QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

Electricity North West

Embedded Capacity Register 2 – 1MW and above, September 2026 edition

561sites of 1 MW and over
11.9 GWcapacity
3.2 GWconnected (301 sites)
8.7 GWaccepted to connect (260 sites)

Capacity by edition month

Total capacity of sites of 1 MW and over, month by month. Months not covered by ENWL's own files use Northern Powergrid's copy of all six registers.

0 GW5 GW10 GW15 GW20 GWFeb 2024February 2024: 2.8 GW connected, 8.3 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)March 2024: 3 GW connected, 7.7 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)April 2024: 3 GW connected, 7.8 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)May 2024: 3 GW connected, 8 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)June 2024: 3.1 GW connected, 7.9 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)July 2024: no edition heldAugust 2024: 3.1 GW connected, 8.6 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)September 2024: 3.1 GW connected, 8.5 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)October 2024: no edition heldNovember 2024: no edition heldDecember 2024: no edition heldJan 2025January 2025: 3.2 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)February 2025: 3.3 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)March 2025: 3.3 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)April 2025: 10.8 GW connected, 8.5 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)May 2025: 10.8 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)June 2025: no edition heldJuly 2025: no edition heldAugust 2025: no edition heldSeptember 2025: no edition heldOctober 2025: no edition heldNovember 2025: 10.8 GW connected, 9.1 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)December 2025: no edition heldJan 2026January 2026: 3.3 GW connected, 9.1 GW accepted to connect (National ECR Archive, a secondary source)February 2026: no edition heldMarch 2026: no edition heldApril 2026: no edition heldMay 2026: 3.2 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (ENWL's own edition)June 2026: no edition heldJuly 2026: no edition heldAugust 2026: no edition heldSeptember 2026: 3.2 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect (ENWL's own edition)

ConnectedAccepted to connectENWL's own editionNational ECR Archive, a secondary sourceNo edition held

The figures, month by month
Edition monthSourceSitesConnectedAccepted to connectTotal
September 2026ENWL's own edition5613.2 GW8.7 GW11.9 GW
August 2026No edition held––––
July 2026No edition held––––
June 2026No edition held––––
May 2026ENWL's own edition ENWL's May 2026 edition: its rows were last updated on 22 June 2026.5653.2 GW8.7 GW11.9 GW
April 2026No edition held––––
March 2026No edition held––––
February 2026No edition held––––
January 2026National ECR Archive, a secondary source5833.3 GW9.1 GW12.4 GW
December 2025No edition held––––
November 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source58110.8 GW9.1 GW19.9 GW
October 2025No edition held––––
September 2025No edition held––––
August 2025No edition held––––
July 2025No edition held––––
June 2025No edition held––––
May 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source57110.8 GW8.7 GW19.5 GW
April 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source57010.8 GW8.5 GW19.3 GW
March 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source5733.3 GW8.7 GW12 GW
February 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source5733.3 GW8.7 GW12 GW
January 2025National ECR Archive, a secondary source5703.2 GW8.7 GW11.9 GW
December 2024No edition held––––
November 2024No edition held––––
October 2024No edition held––––
September 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5693.1 GW8.5 GW11.6 GW
August 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5743.1 GW8.6 GW11.7 GW
July 2024No edition held––––
June 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5673.1 GW7.9 GW11 GW
May 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5693 GW8 GW11 GW
April 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5593 GW7.8 GW10.8 GW
March 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5563 GW7.7 GW10.7 GW
February 2024National ECR Archive, a secondary source5862.8 GW8.3 GW11.1 GW

What changed between editions

Changes to sites found in both of two consecutive monthly editions.

May 2026 edition to September 2026 edition 6 changes

551 sites matched. 24 sites couldn't be matched between the two editions, because their details changed or they appear in only one. QueueWatch holds no edition between these two (4 months apart). ENWL's May 2026 edition: its rows were last updated on 22 June 2026.

  • FRANKLAW WATER TREATMENTNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 4 MW to 3.8 MW
  • HOWICK HILL FARM ESS 50MWNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 52.526 MW to 49.9 MW
  • IRLAM HYDROPOWER STATION, MANCHESTERNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 1 MW to 1.435 MW
  • PILSWORTH POWER PLANTNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 7.5 MW to 5.5 MW
  • RPC CONTAINERSNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 2.105 MW to 2 MW
  • SCHUSTER BUILDING, UNI OF MANCHESTERNorth West England (ENWL)Capacity changed from 2.105 MW to 2 MW

Grid supply points in the September 2026 edition

Each grid supply point the edition names, the largest first, with the capacity of its sites connected and accepted to connect. “Not stated” is the sites whose register gives no grid supply point. “NEW GSP NEXT TO HEYSHAM”, “SPEN - OUT OF AREA”, “AT OR NEAR THE BOUNDARY OF VICKERS CENTRAL (X:319382 Y:468436)” and “CANNOT LOCATE R FORM” name no grid supply point, so they have no page.

HARKER ENWL SGTS 1 2 3A 4 / HUTTON GSP GROUP1270.8 GW2 GW
HEYSHAM GSP300.3 GW0.9 GW
PADIHAM GSP3275 MW918 MW
PENWORTHAM WEST GSP / STANAH GSP GROUP63463 MW366 MW
SOUTH MANCHESTER GSP2299 MW442 MW
ROCHDALE6–517 MW
HARKER8–489 MW
ROCHDALE SGTS 2 3 425180 MW286 MW
PENWORTHAM EAST GSP / ROCHDALE SGT 1 GROUP31317 MW143 MW
BREDBURY GSP2775 MW380 MW

Sites in the September 2026 edition

561 sites, 11.9 GW: 3.2 GW connected, 8.7 GW accepted to connect

Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.

HEATEN HALL FARM BESSBSR APPLICATIONS LTDNorth West England (ENWL)StorageAccepted to connect240HEYSHAM
CALDERDALE WIND FARMCALDERDALE WIND FARM LTDNorthern Powergrid, area not statedWindAccepted to connect240ROCHDALE
HOUGHTON BESSUNICORN RENEWABLESNorth West England (ENWL)StorageAccepted to connect240PADIHAM
HEATEN HALL FARM BESS+WINDBSR APPLICATIONS LTDNorth West England (ENWL)StorageAccepted to connect240NEW GSP NEXT TO HEYSHAM
WALNEY 2 OFFSHORE WIND FARMNorth West England (ENWL)WindConnected183PENWORTHAM WEST GSP / STANAH GSP GROUP
BOLTON ROADName not shownNorth West England (ENWL)Gas and other fossilConnected179HARKER ENWL SGTS 1 2 3A 4 / HUTTON GSP GROUP
ORMONDE OFFSHORE WINDFARMVATTENFALLNorth West England (ENWL)WindConnected150HEYSHAM GSP
RIGG HOUSECX-GROUPNorth West England (ENWL)SolarAccepted to connect150HARKER ENWL SGTS 1 2 3A 4 / HUTTON GSP GROUP
EASTMAN SITECNF ENERGY LTDNorth West England (ENWL)Gas and other fossilAccepted to connect120HARKER/HUTTON
HALSALLS LODGENOVENTUM POWER LIMITEDNorth West England (ENWL)StorageAccepted to connect119WASHWAY FARM

QueueWatch holds 2 ENWL editions, from May 2026 to September 2026.

QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my project

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

How power reaches a site

A grid supply point (GSP) is where the national grid hands power to the local network. A bulk supply point (BSP) steps it down to a lower voltage for an area. A primary substation steps it down again for the streets and sites nearby. Most small and medium sites connect at a primary. Not every network has all three levels.

Flexible connection

The network operator can reduce how much power the site exports or imports when the local network is busy, usually in return for connecting sooner or more cheaply.

Yes: the register says it has one. No: the register says it doesn't. Not stated: the register leaves it blank.