QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Alverdiscott 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

15projects in the register
13.3 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Petroc Offshore Wind FarmBLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITEDOffshore wind30031 Mar 2029Gate 1Scoping
AlverdiscottPIVOTED POWER LLPStorage10031 Aug 2031 +22 moGate 1Scoping
Celtic 2 Offshore Wind FarmRWE Offshore WindOffshore wind1,00031 Oct 2031Gate 1Scoping
Gwynt Glas Offshore Wind FarmGWYNT GLAS OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITEDOffshore wind30031 Oct 2031Gate 1Scoping
Merlin 2 Offshore WindfarmOFFSHORE WIND LIMITEDOffshore wind1,50031 Oct 2031Gate 1Scoping
Merlin Offshore Wind FarmOFFSHORE WIND LIMITEDOffshore wind30031 Oct 2031 +36 moGate 1Scoping
Morwind 300Morwind LtdOffshore wind30031 Oct 2031Not statedScoping
Cormoran Offshore Wind FarmSouth West Wind Holdco LimitedOffshore wind1,0086 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
Equinor Celtic Sea 1EQUINOR NEW ENERGY LIMITEDOffshore wind1,0006 Dec 2036Gate 1Scoping
GallosCorio Generation LimitedOffshore wind2,0006 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
Gwynt Glas Offshore Wind Farm 2GWYNT GLAS OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITEDOffshore wind1,0006 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
Mererid Offshore Wind FarmSouth West Wind Holdco LimitedOffshore wind1,0086 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
Petroc Extension Offshore Wind FarmBLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITEDOffshore wind1,0006 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
SSE Celtic Sea 1SSE RENEWABLES OFFSHORE WINDFARM HOLDINGS LIMITEDOffshore wind1,5006 Dec 2036Not statedScoping
Alverdiscott FarmAlverdiscott 10 Renewables LtdStorage with solar or wind1,00024 Apr 2037Not statedScoping

Left the register since January 2021: Alverdiscott (1.8 GW), Alverdiscott 2 (1.8 GW), Celtic Sea Offshore Wind Farm (1.4 GW), Aurora Offshore Windfarm (0 MW), CS4 (1 GW), Osprey (1 GW), Orsted Celtic Sea (OCS01) (1.4 GW), Orsted Celtic Sea 2 (OCS02) (1.4 GW), CS14 (1 GW), Torridge 2 Offshore Wind Farm (1 GW), Osprey 2 (1 GW), Celtic Sea Offshore (1 GW).

Recent changes

  • Merlin Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 30 Oct 2031 to 31 Oct 2031 (1 day later)
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 31 Mar 2026 to 31 Mar 2029 (+36 months)+36 mo
  • Gwynt Glas Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 6 Dec 2036 to 31 Oct 2031 (−61 months)−61 mo
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 6 Dec 2036 to 31 Mar 2026 (−128 months)−128 mo
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 31 Aug 2031 (+22 months)+22 mo
  • Celtic 2 Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Gwynt Glas Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2031 to 6 Dec 2036 (+61 months)+61 mo
  • Merlin Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Nov 2028 to 30 Oct 2031 (+36 months)+36 mo
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 31 Mar 2029 to 6 Dec 2036 (+92 months)+92 mo
  • Celtic 2 Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 31 Oct 2031)1,000 MW
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, OtherLeft the register (1,800 MW from 30 Aug 2030)1,800 MW
  • Alverdiscott 2England and Wales, OtherLeft the register (1,800 MW from 30 Aug 2032)1,800 MW
  • Celtic 2 Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from RWE Renewables UK Limited to RWE Offshore Wind
  • Aurora Offshore WindfarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (0 MW)0 MW
  • Aurora Offshore WindfarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,000 MW to 0 MW
  • Aurora Offshore WindfarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date removed (was 31 Oct 2031)
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Gwynt Glas Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Celtic 2 Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Petroc Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from SCARABEN OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED to BLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITED
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from SCARABEN OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED to BLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITED
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Marked as Gate 1
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, StorageStage 2: Marked as Gate 1
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Merlin 2 Offshore WindfarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Merlin Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Petroc Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from BLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITED to SCARABEN OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED
  • Petroc Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from BLUEFLOAT ENERGY UK HOLDINGS LIMITED to SCARABEN OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windTechnology changed from Storage, Offshore wind to Offshore wind
  • Alverdiscott 2England and Wales, OtherTechnology changed from Offshore wind to Interconnector
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, OtherTechnology changed from Offshore wind to Interconnector
  • Alverdiscott FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Storage to Storage, Solar
  • Celtic Sea Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (400 MW from 31 Oct 2031, 1,000 MW from 31 Oct 2031)1,400 MW
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windTechnology changed from Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
  • CS4England and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 31 Oct 2031)1,000 MW
  • CS14England and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 31 Oct 2031)1,000 MW
  • Alverdiscott FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Storage, Solar to Storage
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windTechnology changed from Storage, Offshore wind to Offshore wind
  • Orsted Celtic Sea (OCS01)England and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,350 MW from 6 Dec 2036)1,350 MW
  • Orsted Celtic Sea 2 (OCS02)England and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,350 MW from 6 Dec 2036)1,350 MW
  • Torridge 2 Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 6 Dec 2036)1,000 MW
  • Celtic Sea OffshoreEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 30 Oct 2037)1,000 MW
  • OspreyEngland and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 6 Dec 2036)1,000 MW
  • Osprey 2England and Wales, Offshore windLeft the register (1,000 MW from 30 Oct 2037)1,000 MW
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, OtherConnection date moved from 1 Nov 2027 to 30 Aug 2030 (+34 months)+34 mo
  • Alverdiscott 2England and Wales, OtherConnection date moved from 1 Nov 2030 to 30 Aug 2032 (+22 months)+22 mo
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windTechnology changed from Demand, Storage, Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
  • Alverdiscott FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from RADIANT ENERGY HOLDINGS LIMITED to Alverdiscott 10 Renewables LTD
  • Celtic Sea OffshoreEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Alverdiscott GSP to Alverdiscott 400kV Substation
  • Alverdiscott FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from Hatchworks Investments Ltd to RADIANT ENERGY HOLDINGS LIMITED
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, OtherCustomer changed from XLINKS LIMITED to XLINKS 1 LTD
  • Alverdiscott 2England and Wales, OtherCustomer changed from XLINKS LIMITED to XLINKS 1 LTD
  • Aurora Offshore WindfarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from SIMPLY BLUE ENERGY (AURORA) LIMITED to AURORA FLOATING OFFSHORE WIND LIMITED
  • Celtic Sea OffshoreEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Equinor Celtic Sea 1England and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Alverdiscott GSP to Alverdiscott 400kV Substation
  • GallosEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Mererid Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Pembroke 400kV Substation to Alverdiscott 400kV Substation
  • Orsted Celtic Sea (OCS01)England and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Pembroke 400kV Substation to Alverdiscott 400kV Substation
  • Osprey 2England and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • AlverdiscottEngland and Wales, StorageRestructured from 1 stage (49.9 MW from 31 Oct 2023) to 2 stages (49.9 MW from 31 Oct 2029, 50.1 MW from 31 Oct 2036). First connection date +72 months+72 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO