Staythorpe 400kV Substation
England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission
The queue at this substation
| Project | Customer | Technology | Queued MW | Connection date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flash Solar Farm | ELEMENTS GREEN TRENT LTD | Storage with solar or wind | 800 | 31 May 2027 | Not stated | Consents Approved |
| Staythorpe (BESS and PV) | SSE STAYTHORPE POWER LIMITED | Storage with solar or wind | 437 | 29 Sep 2028 | Not stated | Consents Approved |
| Field Farm | Net Zero One Ltd | Storage | 250 | 30 Sep 2030 −1 mo | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| Staythorpe | ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITED | Storage with solar or wind | 400 | 31 Oct 2030 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| Staythorpe C | RWE Generation UK Plc | Thermal (gas, biomass, waste) | 0 | Connected | Not stated | Built |
Recent changes
- Field FarmEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2030 to 30 Sep 2030 (−1 month)−1 mo
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStatus changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
- Field FarmEngland and Wales, StorageMarked as Gate 1
- StaythorpeEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (0 MW from 1 May 2028)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (0 MW from 31 Oct 2030)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (0 MW from 1 May 2028)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (0 MW from 31 Oct 2030)
- StaythorpeEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED to ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITED
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windRestructured from 1 stage (437 MW from 28 Sep 2028) to 1 stage (437 MW from 29 Sep 2028)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Aug 2026 to 31 May 2027 (+9 months)+9 mo
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 29 May 2026 to 28 Sep 2028 (+28 months)+28 mo
- Staythorpe CEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Staythorpe 400kv to Staythorpe 400kV Substation)
- Staythorpe CEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Technology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Aug 2025 to 30 Aug 2026 (+13 months)+13 mo
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Capacity changed from 40 MW to 440 MW
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 1 May 2027 to 1 May 2028 (+12 months)+12 mo
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (200 MW from 1 Aug 2027)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (200 MW from 1 May 2028)
- Field FarmEngland and Wales, StorageConnection point changed from Stalybridge 400kV Substation to Staythorpe 400kv
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Staythorpe
- Field FarmEngland and Wales, StorageConnection point changed from Staythorpe (Network Rail) GSP to Stalybridge 400kV Substation
- Staythorpe CEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection point changed from Staythorpe (Network Rail) GSP to Staythorpe 400kv
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ECAP Renewables Staythorpe Ltd to ELEMENTS GREEN TRENT LTD
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Capacity changed from 400 MW to 360 MW
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2027 to 1 Aug 2025 (−27 months)−27 mo
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Capacity changed from 400 MW to 40 MW
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 1 Jul 2028 to 1 May 2027 (−14 months)−14 mo
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (200 MW from 1 Aug 2027)
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (200 MW from 1 May 2028)
- StaythorpeEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Aug 2024 to 29 May 2026 (+21 months)+21 mo
- Field FarmEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from Staythorpe Power Limited to SSE STAYTHORPE POWER LIMITED
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from GRIDMOVE LTD to Staythorpe Power Limited
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Staythorpe (Network Rail) GSP to Staythorpe 400kV Substation
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStatus changed from Scoping to Awaiting Consents
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Demand, Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation to Storage, Solar
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Staythorpe to Staythorpe (Network Rail) GSP
- Staythorpe CEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection point changed from Staythorpe to Staythorpe (Network Rail) GSP
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRestructured from 1 stage (800 MW from 31 Oct 2025) to 2 stages (400 MW from 31 Oct 2027, 400 MW from 1 Jul 2028). First connection date +24 months+24 mo
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation
- Flash Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Staythorpe (BESS and PV)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?