Necton 400kV Substation
England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission
The queue at this substation
| Project | Customer | Technology | Queued MW | Connection date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard | NORFOLK VANGUARD WEST LIMITED | Offshore wind | 1,320 | 31 Dec 2027 +25 mo | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
| Vanguard East | Norfolk Vanguard East Ltd | Offshore wind | 1,320 | 1 Apr 2028 | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
| Norfolk Boreas | NORFOLK BOREAS LIMITED | Offshore wind | 1,320 | 1 Oct 2029 | Not stated | Awaiting Consents |
| Necton Greener Grid Park | Necton Grid Solutions Limited | Storage | 78 | 31 Oct 2032 | Not stated | Awaiting Consents |
| Bradenham - Thetford (Necton) GEC (Ethos Green) | NECTON GREEN ENERGY CENTRE LTD | Storage with solar or wind | 850 | 1 Oct 2033 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| Zenobe Necton BESS | ZENOBE ENERGY LIMITED | Storage | 300 | 31 Oct 2034 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| Dudgeon Offshore Wind Farm | DUDGEON OFFSHORE WIND LIMITED | Offshore wind | 0 | Connected | Not stated | Built |
Recent changes
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Given a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Necton 400kV Substation to Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Dec 2027 to 1 Apr 2028 (+3 months)+3 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Gate marking removed (was Gate 2)
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Gate marking removed (was Gate 2)
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,320 MW from 1 Dec 2025) to 2 stages (400 MW from 31 Dec 2027, 920 MW from 1 Apr 2028). First connection date +25 months+25 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Apr 2028 to 31 Dec 2027 (−3 months)−3 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Given a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
- Bradenham - Thetford (Necton) GEC (Ethos Green)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
- Zenobe Necton BESSEngland and Wales, StorageMarked as Gate 1
- Necton Greener Grid ParkEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Connection date moved from 15 Feb 2027 to 31 Oct 2026 (−4 months)−4 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Necton 400kV Substation to Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation
- Necton Greener Grid ParkEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2026 to 15 Feb 2027 (+4 months)+4 mo
- Necton Greener Grid ParkEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
- Zenobe Necton BESSEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2033 to 31 Oct 2034 (+12 months)+12 mo
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Mar 2030 to 31 Dec 2030 (+9 months)+9 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 20 Mar 2028 to 1 Apr 2028 (12 days later)
- Necton Greener Grid ParkEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from STATKRAFT UK LTD to Necton Grid Solutions Limited
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from NORFOLK VANGUARD LIMITED to NORFOLK VANGUARD WEST LIMITED
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,320 MW from 1 Aug 2026) to 2 stages (400 MW from 1 Oct 2029, 920 MW from 31 Mar 2030). First connection date +38 months+38 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Capacity changed from 960 MW to 400 MW
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Mar 2027 to 20 Mar 2028 (+13 months)+13 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Capacity changed from 360 MW to 920 MW
- Necton Greener Grid ParkEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
- Bradenham - Thetford (Necton) GEC (Ethos Green)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Zenobe Necton BESSEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
- Dudgeon Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Necton 400kV to Necton 400kV Substation)
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Norfolk Boreas Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Vanguard West Offshore Platform to Necton 400kV Substation
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Vanguard East Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Boreas
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,200 MW to 1,320 MW
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Apr 2027 to 1 Aug 2026 (−8 months)−8 mo
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,200 MW to 1,320 MW
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Apr 2025 to 1 Dec 2025 (+8 months)+8 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,200 MW from 1 Apr 2025) to 2 stages (960 MW from 1 Mar 2027, 360 MW from 31 Dec 2028). First connection date +23 months+23 mo
- Norfolk BoreasEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2027 to 1 Apr 2027 (+3 months)+3 mo
- VanguardEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2025 to 1 Apr 2025 (+3 months)+3 mo
- Vanguard EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2025 to 1 Apr 2025 (+3 months)+3 mo
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?