Vanguard East
- Connection date
- 1 Apr 2028
- Gate
- Gate 2
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Technology
- Offshore wind
- Total capacity
- 1,320 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 1,320 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-000580
- In the register since
- January 2021 or earlier
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 400 | 400 | 1 Apr 2028 | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
| 2 | 0 | 920 | 1,320 | 31 Dec 2028 | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 22 Oct 2026 registerConnection point changed from Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- 22 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 22 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
- 22 Oct 2026 registerStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 22 Oct 2026 registerStage 2: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
- 20 Oct 2026 registerConnection point changed from Necton 400kV Substation to Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation
- 20 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Dec 2027 to 1 Apr 2028 (+3 months)
- 20 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Gate marking removed (was Gate 2)
- 20 Oct 2026 registerStage 2: Gate marking removed (was Gate 2)
- 16 Oct 2026 registerConnection point changed from Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- 16 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Apr 2028 to 31 Dec 2027 (−3 months)
- 16 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
- 16 Oct 2026 registerStage 2: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
- 30 Sep 2025 registerConnection point changed from Necton 400kV Substation to Vanguard East 275/66kV Offshore Substation
- 26 Nov 2024 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 20 Mar 2028 to 1 Apr 2028 (12 days later)
- 30 Jan 2024 registerStage 1: Capacity changed from 960 MW to 400 MW
- 30 Jan 2024 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Mar 2027 to 20 Mar 2028 (+13 months)
- 30 Jan 2024 registerStage 2: Capacity changed from 360 MW to 920 MW
- 23 Dec 2022 registerConnection point changed from Vanguard East Offshore Substation to Necton 400kV Substation
- 30 Mar 2022 registerRestructured from 1 stage (1,200 MW from 1 Apr 2025) to 2 stages (960 MW from 1 Mar 2027, 360 MW from 31 Dec 2028). First connection date +23 months
- 26 Feb 2021 registerConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2025 to 1 Apr 2025 (+3 months)
Also at Necton 400kV Substation
Substation view6 other projects, 5.2 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 400 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 1 Apr 2028.
- VanguardNORFOLK VANGUARD WEST LIMITED, Offshore wind, Gate 2Dec 20271.3 GW
- Norfolk BoreasNORFOLK BOREAS LIMITED, Offshore wind, Not statedOct 20291.3 GW
- Necton Greener Grid ParkNecton Grid Solutions Limited, Storage, Not statedOct 203278 MW
- Bradenham - Thetford (Necton) GEC (Ethos Green)NECTON GREEN ENERGY CENTRE LTD, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2033850 MW
- Zenobe Necton BESSZENOBE ENERGY LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Oct 2034300 MW
- Dudgeon Offshore Wind FarmDUDGEON OFFSHORE WIND LIMITED, Offshore wind, Not statedConnected400 MW