Norwich Main 400kV Substation
England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission
The queue at this substation
| Project | Customer | Technology | Queued MW | Connection date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norwich | PIVOTED POWER LLP | Storage with solar or wind | 57 | 18 Dec 2025 Past date | Not stated | Consents Approved |
| Hornsea Power Station 3 | HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED | Offshore wind | 3,000 | 1 Oct 2026 Past date | Not stated | Consents Approved |
| Scira-Dudgeon Extension | SHERINGHAM SHOAL AND DUDGEON EXTENSIONS PROJCO LIMITED | Offshore wind | 1,350 | 1 Jan 2030 | Not stated | Scoping |
| Norwich 2 | EDF ENERGY RENEWABLES LIMITED | Onshore wind | 28 | 30 Jun 2033 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
Left the register since January 2021: Project Yare (49.5 MW).
Recent changes
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from ORSTED HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED to HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED
- Norwich 2England and Wales, Onshore windMarked as Gate 1
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Norwich GSP to Norwich Main 400kV Substation
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from EQUINOR NEW ENERGY LIMITED to SHERINGHAM SHOAL AND DUDGEON EXTENSIONS PROJCO LIMITED
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2024 to 18 Dec 2025 (+14 months)+14 mo
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Jan 2029 to 1 Jan 2030 (+12 months)+12 mo
- Norwich 2England and Wales, Onshore windTechnology changed from Storage, Solar to Solar, Onshore wind
- Project YareEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windLeft the register (49.5 MW from 25 Oct 2024)49.5 MW
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 Substation to Norwich Main 400kV Substation
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Technology changed from Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Technology changed from Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
- Norwich 2England and Wales, Onshore windTechnology changed from Solar, Onshore wind to Storage, Solar
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Jul 2027 to 1 Jan 2029 (+18 months)+18 mo
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windNew stage added (400 MW from 1 Oct 2034)
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Mablethorpe 400kV to Norwich GSP
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCapacity changed from 49.9 MW to 57 MW
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Storage to Storage, Solar
- Norwich 2England and Wales, Onshore windAdded to the registerNew
- Project YareEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from YARE POWER LIMITED to ASH GREEN ENERGY FARM LIMITED
- Project YareEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Equinor
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windNew stage added (231 MW from 31 Oct 2031)
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 to Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 Substation)
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Scira-Dudgeon Extension 220/66kV Offshore Substation to Norwich Main 400kV Substation
- NorwichEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Norwich Main 400kV to Mablethorpe 400kV
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Sep 2025 to 1 Jul 2027 (+22 months)+22 mo
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Capacity changed from 2,000 MW to 2,250 MW
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2025 to 1 Oct 2026 (+11 months)+11 mo
- Hornsea Power Station 3England and Wales, Offshore windStage 2: Capacity changed from 1,000 MW to 750 MW
- Scira-Dudgeon ExtensionEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 9 Jan 2025 to 1 Sep 2025 (+8 months)+8 mo
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?