QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales
Connection date
1 Jan 2030
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Offshore wind
Total capacity
1,350 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
1,350 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-000507
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
107197191 Jan 2030Not statedScoping
2023195031 Oct 2031Not statedScoping
304001,3501 Oct 2034Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Customer changed from EQUINOR NEW ENERGY LIMITED to SHERINGHAM SHOAL AND DUDGEON EXTENSIONS PROJCO LIMITED
  • 31 Jan 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Jan 2029 to 1 Jan 2030 (+12 months)
  • 27 Feb 2024 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Jul 2027 to 1 Jan 2029 (+18 months)
  • 27 Feb 2024 register
    New stage added (400 MW from 1 Oct 2034)
  • 31 Mar 2023 register
    Renamed from Equinor
  • 31 Mar 2023 register
    New stage added (231 MW from 31 Oct 2031)
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Connection point changed from Scira-Dudgeon Extension 220/66kV Offshore Substation to Norwich Main 400kV Substation
  • 31 May 2022 register
    Connection date moved from 1 Sep 2025 to 1 Jul 2027 (+22 months)
  • 26 Feb 2021 register
    Connection date moved from 9 Jan 2025 to 1 Sep 2025 (+8 months)

Also at Norwich Main 400kV Substation

Substation view

3 other projects, 4.4 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 3.1 GW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 1 Jan 2030.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO