QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

Hornsea Power Station 3

HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED at Norwich Main 400kV Substation

Connection date
1 Oct 2026
Gate
Not stated
Status
Consents Approved
Planning consent
Granted 30 Dec 2020
The Planning Inspectorate - National Infrastructure, reference EN010080 · Source: REPD
Contract for Difference
Allocation Round 6
Technology
Storage + Offshore wind
Total capacity
3,000 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
3,000 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-000434
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
102,2502,2501 Oct 2026Not statedConsents Approved
207503,00031 Dec 2028Not statedConsents Approved

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 20 Mar 2026 register
    Customer changed from ORSTED HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED to HORNSEA PROJECT THREE (UK) LIMITED
  • 28 Jun 2024 register
    Connection point changed from Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 Substation to Norwich Main 400kV Substation
  • 28 Jun 2024 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
  • 28 Jun 2024 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Offshore wind to Storage, Offshore wind
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 to Hornsea Offshore Platform 3 Substation)
  • 30 Mar 2022 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 2,000 MW to 2,250 MW
  • 30 Mar 2022 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2025 to 1 Oct 2026 (+11 months)
  • 30 Mar 2022 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 1,000 MW to 750 MW

Also at Norwich Main 400kV Substation

Substation view

3 other projects, 4.4 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 57 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 1 Oct 2026.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO

Planning consent

The planning decision or stage for this project, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition, with the planning authority and its reference. QueueWatch matched the project to that record. NESO’s status can lag behind planning decisions, so the two may differ.

How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.

Contract for Difference

The Contracts for Difference allocation round for this project, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition. QueueWatch matched the project to that record.

How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.