QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Bolney 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

6projects in the register
1.5 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
460 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Bolney (tertiary)BOLNEY GREEN LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind5729 May 2028Gate 1Scoping
Rampion Extension Offshore Wind FarmRAMPION EXTENSION DEVELOPMENT LIMITEDOffshore wind1,20031 Dec 2029 +41 moNot statedScoping
BolneyPIVOTED POWER LLPStorage with solar or wind47.531 Jan 2031Not statedScoping
Bolney Grid Stability ServicesWP GRID SERVICES 13 LIMITEDOther031 Oct 2031 (0 MW)Not statedScoping
Bolney FarmDragon Green 2 Renewables LtdStorage with solar or wind20030 Oct 2037Gate 1Scoping
ShorehamVPI Power LimitedThermal (gas, biomass, waste)0ConnectedNot statedBuilt

Recent changes

  • Rampion Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Aug 2026 to 31 Dec 2029 (+41 months)+41 mo
  • Bolney FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Rampion Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Rampion Offshore Wind Farm to Bolney 400kV Substation
  • BolneyEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Solar to Storage, Solar
  • BolneyEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCapacity changed from 49.9 MW to 47.5 MW
  • BolneyEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2027 to 31 Jan 2031 (+39 months)+39 mo
  • BolneyEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Storage to Solar
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windRestructured from 2 stages (49.9 MW from 30 Oct 2024, 7.1 MW from 30 Oct 2025) to 1 stage (57 MW from 29 May 2028). First connection date +43 months+43 mo
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connected MW moved between stages in the register (460 MW connected, unchanged)
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Stage removed (40 MW connected)
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Stage removed (−40 MW from 1 Oct 2026)
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Stage removed (40 MW from 31 Dec 2029)
  • Bolney Grid Stability ServicesEngland and Wales, OtherConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2030 to 31 Oct 2031 (+12 months)+12 mo
  • Bolney Grid Stability ServicesEngland and Wales, OtherAdded to the registerNew
  • Bolney FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from 548 UK INVESTMENT HOLDINGS LIMITED to Dragon Green 2 Renewables Ltd
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection point changed from Bolney GSP to Bolney 400kV Substation
  • Bolney FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED to BOLNEY GREEN LIMITED
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Jun 2023 to 30 Oct 2024 (+16 months)+16 mo
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2023 to 30 Oct 2025 (+24 months)+24 mo
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2024 to 30 Jun 2023 (−16 months)−16 mo
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2025 to 31 Oct 2023 (−24 months)−24 mo
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Jun 2023 to 30 Oct 2024 (+16 months)+16 mo
  • Bolney (tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2023 to 30 Oct 2025 (+24 months)+24 mo
  • Rampion Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from RWE RENEWABLES UK LIMITED to Rampion Extension Development Limited
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Bolney to Bolney GSP)
  • BolneyEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2022 to 31 Oct 2027 (+60 months)+60 mo
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Stage 1: 40 MW now connectedConnected
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Stage 1: Status changed from Under Construction/Commissioning to Built
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)New stage added (40 MW from 1 Sep 2021)
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)New stage added (−40 MW from 1 Oct 2026)
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)New stage added (40 MW from 31 Dec 2029)
  • Rampion Extension Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 8 Jan 2026 to 1 Aug 2026 (+7 months)+7 mo
  • ShorehamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Customer changed from DRAX GENERATION ENTERPRISE LIMITED to VPI POWER LIMITED
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO