QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Distribution / SPEN / Grid supply point

Connahs Quay

Grid supply point in Merseyside, Cheshire and North Wales (SPM)

SPEN Embedded Capacity Register >1MW, September 2026 edition

32sites of 1 MW and over
459 MWcapacity
281 MWconnected (26 sites)
178 MWaccepted to connect (6 sites)

Capacity by technology

TechnologySitesCapacityConnectedAccepted to connect
Wind6143 MW95 MW48 MW
Solar6103 MW81 MW22 MW
Other or not stated199.4 MW–99.4 MW
Gas and other fossil1385.9 MW77.1 MW8.8 MW
Bioenergy and waste627.3 MW27.3 MW–

Storage capacity in MWh: not published by SPEN.

Each site is grouped by its first energy source, as the register names it.

How busy is each primary substation?

Each primary substation at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition, under the bulk supply point its register gives. Select a row to see its sites.

Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.

Primary substationBulk supply pointSitesConnectedAccepted to connect
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT411.9 MW–
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT411.5 MW–
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT411.1 MW–
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT411.1 MW–
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT411 MW–
HOLYWELL GT1 / RHYL GT1 / ST ASAPH GT2 / ST ASAPH GT4884 MW67 MW
Rhyl T2160 MW–
Shotton Paper150 MW–
DEESIDE PK GRID GT1 / SIXTH AVE GRID GT125 MW2.9 MW
DEESIDE PK GRID GT1 / SIXTH AVE GRID GT1333 MW8.8 MW
CASTLE CEMENT GT1 / HAWARDEN GT1 / SALTNEY GT1 / SALTNEY G2B15 MW–
CASTLE CEMENT GT1 / HAWARDEN GT1 / SALTNEY GT1 / SALTNEY G2B12.5 MW–
CASTLE CEMENT GT1 / HAWARDEN GT1 / SALTNEY GT1 / SALTNEY G2B22.1 MW–
CASTLE CEMENT GT1 / HAWARDEN GT1 / SALTNEY GT1 / SALTNEY G2B11.5 MW–
CASTLE CEMENT GT1 / HAWARDEN GT1 / SALTNEY GT1 / SALTNEY G2B220.2 MW–
BRYMBO GT2 / HAWARDEN GT2 / HOLYWELL GT239.5 MW–
BRYMBO GT2 / HAWARDEN GT2 / HOLYWELL GT211.8 MW–
Not stated1–99.4 MW

Not found in SPEN's September 2026 edition

9 sites last found at this grid supply point were not found in this edition by their MPAN, grid reference or name and postcode. QueueWatch keeps their pages for six months and does not say whether they have left the register.

What changed recently

Changes to the sites here found in both of two consecutive monthly editions, the latest first.

August 2026 edition to September 2026 edition: 31 sites matched. 2 sites at this grid supply point couldn't be matched between the two editions, because their details changed or they appear in only one.

  • ToyotaAugust 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
  • ToyotaAugust 2026 editionTechnology changed from Solar to Gas and other fossil
  • IcelandJuly 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
  • IcelandJuly 2026 editionTechnology changed from Gas and other fossil to Solar
  • ToyotaJuly 2026 editionStatus changed from “accepted to connect” to “connected”
  • ToyotaJuly 2026 editionTechnology changed from Gas and other fossil to Solar
  • IcelandJune 2026 editionStatus changed from “accepted to connect” to “connected”
  • IcelandJune 2026 editionTechnology changed from Solar to Gas and other fossil
  • ToyotaJune 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
  • ToyotaJune 2026 editionTechnology changed from Solar to Gas and other fossil
  • IcelandApril 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
  • IcelandApril 2026 editionTechnology changed from Gas and other fossil to Solar
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my project

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

How power reaches a site

A grid supply point (GSP) is where the national grid hands power to the local network. A bulk supply point (BSP) steps it down to a lower voltage for an area. A primary substation steps it down again for the streets and sites nearby. Most small and medium sites connect at a primary. Not every network has all three levels.