Iceland
Iceland Frozen Foods Ltd at Connahs Quay
SPEN Embedded Capacity Register >1MW, September 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Target energisation date
- Not stated
- Status
- Accepted to connect
- Customer
- Iceland Frozen Foods Ltd
- Site name
- Iceland
- Address
- Deeside Industrial Park, Deeside, Wirral, CH5 2NW
- Grid reference
- Easting 332836, northing 371269
- Licence area
- Merseyside, Cheshire and North Wales (SPM)
- Grid supply point
- Connahs Quay
- Bulk supply point
- DEESIDE PK GRID GT1 / SIXTH AVE GRID GT1
- Primary substation
- OPTICAL FIBRES T1 / SHOTWICK T1 / WALBRO T1
- Connection voltage
- 33 kV
- Technology group
- Solar
- Energy source 1
- Solar, Photovoltaic: 0.9 MW registered
- Energy source 2
- Fossil - Gas, Steam-gas turbine (CCGT): 2 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 2.9 MW
- Change to maximum export capacity
- 2.9 MW
- Change to maximum import capacity
- 0 MW
- Flexible connection
- Not stated
- In a connection queue
- Yes
- Date accepted
- Not stated
- Date connected
- Not stated
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by SPEN
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- Not stated
- Export MPAN
- Not stated
- Import MPAN
- Not stated
- Last updated
- 14 Sep 2020
- Tracked since
- March 2026 edition
Change history
Tracked since the March 2026 edition, across 7 editions.
Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.
- July 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
- July 2026 editionTechnology changed from Gas and other fossil to Solar
- June 2026 editionStatus changed from “accepted to connect” to “connected”
- June 2026 editionTechnology changed from Solar to Gas and other fossil
- April 2026 editionStatus changed from “connected” to “accepted to connect”
- April 2026 editionTechnology changed from Gas and other fossil to Solar
Also at Connahs Quay
GSP view31 other sites at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition, 1 of them at OPTICAL FIBRES T1 / SHOTWICK T1 / WALBRO T1, the same primary substation. In all, the sites here total 459 MW: 281 MW connected, 178 MW accepted to connect.
- Great Bear DistributionUrban Reserve (Assettco) Ltd, Gas and other fossil, OPTICAL FIBRES T1 / SHOTWICK T1 / WALBRO T1 primaryConnected5 MW
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose