QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

VATTENFALL WIND POWER LTD

Customer named in the TEC register

6projects in the register
464 MWstill to connect
63 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
41.4 MWconnected now

Projects

ProjectConnection siteTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Clashindarroch 2Cairnford GSPOnshore wind634 Jun 2027 +9 moGate 2Under Construction/Commissioning
Rochester Renewable ProjectKingsnorth 132kV SubstationStorage with solar or wind6022 Sep 2028Not statedScoping
Quantans Hill Wind FarmQuantans Hill 132kV SubstationOnshore wind952 Jul 2029Not statedScoping
South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Kyle 2 132/33kV SubstationStorage with solar or wind92.431 Jul 2030Gate 1Scoping
Aultmore Wind Farm (2023)Aultmore Wind Farm 132/33kV SubstationStorage with solar or wind10530 Sep 2030Gate 1Scoping
Edinbane WindfarmEdinbane 132/33kV SubstationStorage with solar or wind48.630 Apr 2033Gate 1Scoping

Left the register since January 2021: Thanet Extension Offshore Wind Farm (340 MW), Whiteneuk Wind Farm (177 MW), Vattenfall 1 (750 MW), Vattenfall 2 (750 MW).

Recent changes

  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Gate marking removed (was Gate 1)
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Marked as Gate 1
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Marked as Gate 1
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windStatus changed from Scoping to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windRestructured from 1 stage (77 MW from 31 Aug 2026) to 1 stage (63 MW from 4 Jun 2027). First connection date +9 months+9 mo
  • Aultmore Wind Farm (2023)North Scotland, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Aultmore Wind Farm (2023)North Scotland, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Onshore wind to Storage, Onshore wind
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Edinbane GSP to Edinbane 132/33kV Substation)
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Connection date moved from 1 Jan 2030 to 30 Apr 2033 (+40 months)+40 mo
  • Quantans Hill Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 30 Apr 2027 to 2 Jul 2029 (+26 months)+26 mo
  • Rochester Renewable ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Kingsnorth GSP to Kingsnorth 132kV Substation
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windCapacity changed from 67 MW to 92.4 MW
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 25 May 2029 to 31 Jul 2030 (+14 months)+14 mo
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 30 Apr 2025 to 31 Aug 2026 (+16 months)+16 mo
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windTechnology changed from Onshore wind to Storage, Onshore wind
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from New Cummock 132/33kV Substation to South Kyle 2 132/33kV Substation
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windCapacity changed from 81 MW to 67 MW
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 13 Apr 2029 to 25 May 2029 (+1 month)+1 mo
  • Aultmore Wind Farm (2023)North Scotland, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Quantans Hill Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windCapacity changed from 126 MW to 95 MW
  • Rochester Renewable ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Vattenfall 1North Scotland, Offshore windLeft the register (750 MW from 31 Oct 2033)750 MW
  • Vattenfall 2North Scotland, Offshore windLeft the register (750 MW from 31 Oct 2033)750 MW
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Edinbane to Edinbane GSP)
  • Quantans Hill Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windConnection point changed from Quantans Hill 132kV Substantion to Quantans Hill 132kV Substation
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from New Cummock 132/33kV to New Cummock 132/33kV Substation)
  • Vattenfall 1North Scotland, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Tealing 275/33kV to Tealing 275/33kV Substation)
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (48.6 MW from 1 Jan 2030)
  • South Kyle 2 Wind farmSouth Scotland, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Edinbane Wind - Skye
  • Edinbane WindfarmNorth Scotland, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Onshore wind to Storage, Onshore wind
  • Whiteneuk Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windLeft the register (177 MW from 30 Jun 2027)177 MW
  • Vattenfall 1North Scotland, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Vattenfall 2North Scotland, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Cairnford to Cairnford GSP)
  • Clashindarroch 2North Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 30 Apr 2024 to 30 Apr 2025 (+12 months)+12 mo
  • Thanet Extension Offshore Wind FarmOffshore (OFTO), Offshore windLeft the register (340 MW from 30 Apr 2023)340 MW
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO