QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Sundon 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

4projects in the register
1.2 GWstill to connect
50 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
49.9 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
SundonSUNDON BATTERY STORAGE LIMITEDStorage5030 Apr 2027 +20 moGate 2Under Construction/Commissioning
Sundon StorageStatera Energy LimitedStorage50030 Oct 2027Gate 1Scoping
FancottKONA ASSET 2 LIMITEDStorage60030 Oct 2031Not statedScoping
Sundon Pivoted PowerPIVOTED POWER LLPSolar0ConnectedNot statedBuilt

Left the register since January 2021: Millfield Lane BESS & Solar (600 MW).

Recent changes

  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 5 Sep 2025 to 30 Apr 2027 (+20 months)+20 mo
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Scoping to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • Sundon StorageEngland and Wales, StorageMarked as Gate 1
  • FancottEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from SSE FANCOTT BESS LTD to KONA ASSET 2 LIMITED
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, SolarTechnology changed from Storage to Solar
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageCapacity changed from 49.5 MW to 50 MW
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 1 May 2024 to 5 Sep 2025 (+16 months)+16 mo
  • FancottEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from FANCOTT BESS LTD to SSE FANCOTT BESS LTD
  • FancottEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from SSE UTILITY SOLUTIONS LIMITED to FANCOTT BESS LTD
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, Solar49.9 MW now connectedConnected
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, SolarStatus changed from Awaiting Consents to Built
  • Millfield Lane BESS & SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windLeft the register (600 MW from 30 Oct 2037)600 MW
  • Sundon StorageEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 19 Dec 2031 to 30 Oct 2027 (−50 months)−50 mo
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, SolarConnection point changed from Sundon GSP to Sundon 400kV Substation
  • Sundon StorageEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Millfield Lane BESS & SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • FancottEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Sundon 400kV to Sundon 400kV Substation)
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Sundon 400kV to Sundon 400kV Substation)
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, SolarSubstation name updated in the register (from Sundon to Sundon GSP)
  • FancottEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from CSE21 LIMITED to SUNDON BATTERY STORAGE LIMITED
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 10 May 2024 to 1 May 2024 (9 days earlier)
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageTechnology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Storage
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 13 Oct 2023 to 10 May 2024 (+7 months)+7 mo
  • Sundon Pivoted PowerEngland and Wales, SolarConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2022 to 31 Oct 2023 (+12 months)+12 mo
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 1 Jul 2022 to 13 Oct 2023 (+15 months)+15 mo
  • SundonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 7 Jan 2022 to 1 Jul 2022 (+6 months)+6 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO