QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Drakelow 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

7projects in the register
3 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Powersite @ DrakelowPOWERSITE LTDThermal (gas, biomass, waste)3801 Oct 2020 Past dateNot statedUnder Construction/Commissioning
Drakelow Green Energy CentreDRAKELOW NG LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind1,02530 Apr 2028Not statedAwaiting Consents
Caldwell RoadTAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITEDStorage24930 Oct 2028Gate 1Scoping
Greta IIITAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind50030 Oct 2029Not statedConsents Approved
Walton Road Energy ProjectLightsource Renewable UK Development LimitedStorage with solar or wind24031 Oct 2029Gate 1Scoping
Drakelow BESSHARMONY DL LTDStorage20031 Dec 2029Not statedConsents Approved
Drakelow PV & BESS StationIBV Elford Park Solar LimitedStorage with solar or wind40030 Oct 2037Gate 1Scoping

Recent changes

  • Greta IIIEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • Greta IIIEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from Trent BESS III LIMITED to TAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED
  • Walton Road Energy ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Caldwell RoadEngland and Wales, StorageMarked as Gate 1
  • Drakelow PV & BESS StationEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to DRAKELOW NG LIMITED
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
  • Drakelow PV & BESS StationEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from IB VOGT UK LTD to IBV Elford Park Solar Limited
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageConnection point changed from Drakelow 132kV Substation to Drakelow 400kV Substation
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 Jun 2028 to 31 Dec 2029 (+18 months)+18 mo
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2026 to 30 Apr 2028 (+18 months)+18 mo
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
  • Walton Road Energy ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Lullington Solar
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from HARMONY ENERGY LIMITED to HARMONY DL LTD
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from DRAKELOW NO LIMITED to DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to DRAKELOW NO LIMITED
  • Greta IIIEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from GRETA III LIMITED to Trent BESS III LIMITED
  • Drakelow PV & BESS StationEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2033 to 30 Oct 2037 (+48 months)+48 mo
  • Caldwell RoadEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2033 to 30 Oct 2028 (−60 months)−60 mo
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 132kV to Drakelow 132kV Substation)
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 Oct 2029 to 30 Jun 2028 (−16 months)−16 mo
  • Drakelow PV & BESS StationEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Caldwell RoadEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRestructured from 1 stage (1,025 MW from 30 Oct 2026) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2026, 625 MW from 30 Oct 2029)
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCapacity changed from 400 MW to 1,025 MW
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 400kV to Drakelow 400kV Substation)
  • Greta IIIEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 400kV to Drakelow 400kV Substation)
  • Powersite @ DrakelowEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 400kV to Drakelow 400kV Substation)
  • Walton Road Energy ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 400kV to Drakelow 400kV Substation)
  • Walton Road Energy ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Drakelow BESSEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Greta IIIEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Drakelow Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Powersite @ DrakelowEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection date moved from 10 Jan 2020 to 1 Oct 2020 (+9 months)+9 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO