Drakelow BESS
- Connection date
- 31 Dec 2029
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Technology
- Storage
- Total capacity
- 200 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 200 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-002033
- In the register since
- June 2022
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 29 Jul 2025 registerConnection point changed from Drakelow 132kV Substation to Drakelow 400kV Substation
- 29 Jul 2025 registerStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 27 Jun 2025 registerConnection date moved from 30 Jun 2028 to 31 Dec 2029 (+18 months)
- 29 Apr 2025 registerCustomer changed from HARMONY ENERGY LIMITED to HARMONY DL LTD
- 26 Apr 2024 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 132kV to Drakelow 132kV Substation)
- 27 Feb 2024 registerConnection date moved from 30 Oct 2029 to 30 Jun 2028 (−16 months)
- 30 Jun 2022 registerAdded to the register
Also at Drakelow 400kV Substation
Substation view6 other projects, 3 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 2.4 GW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 31 Dec 2029.
- Powersite @ DrakelowPOWERSITE LTD, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste), Not statedOct 2020380 MW
- Drakelow Green Energy CentreDRAKELOW NG LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedApr 20281 GW
- Caldwell RoadTAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Oct 2028249 MW
- Greta IIITAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedOct 2029500 MW
- Walton Road Energy ProjectLightsource Renewable UK Development Limited, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2029240 MW
- Drakelow PV & BESS StationIBV Elford Park Solar Limited, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2037400 MW