Drakelow Green Energy Centre
- Connection date
- 30 Apr 2028
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Awaiting Consents
- Technology
- Demand + Storage + Solar
- Total capacity
- 1,025 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 1,025 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-001693
- In the register since
- November 2021
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 400 | 400 | 30 Apr 2028 | Not stated | Awaiting Consents |
| 2 | 0 | 625 | 1,025 | 30 Oct 2029 | Not stated | Awaiting Consents |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 16 Jan 2026 registerCustomer changed from DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to DRAKELOW NG LIMITED
- 30 Sep 2025 registerStage removed (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
- 27 Jun 2025 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2026 to 30 Apr 2028 (+18 months)
- 27 Jun 2025 registerStage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
- 27 Jun 2025 registerStage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
- 27 Jun 2025 registerNew stage added (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
- 29 Apr 2025 registerCustomer changed from DRAKELOW NO LIMITED to DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED
- 28 Mar 2025 registerCustomer changed from DRAKELOW GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to DRAKELOW NO LIMITED
- 28 Jul 2023 registerRestructured from 1 stage (1,025 MW from 30 Oct 2026) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2026, 625 MW from 30 Oct 2029)
- 30 May 2023 registerCapacity changed from 400 MW to 1,025 MW
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Drakelow 400kV to Drakelow 400kV Substation)
- 30 Nov 2021 registerAdded to the register
Also at Drakelow 400kV Substation
Substation view6 other projects, 3 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 380 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 30 Apr 2028.
- Powersite @ DrakelowPOWERSITE LTD, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste), Not statedOct 2020380 MW
- Caldwell RoadTAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Oct 2028249 MW
- Greta IIITAGENERGY DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedOct 2029500 MW
- Walton Road Energy ProjectLightsource Renewable UK Development Limited, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2029240 MW
- Drakelow BESSHARMONY DL LTD, Storage, Not statedDec 2029200 MW
- Drakelow PV & BESS StationIBV Elford Park Solar Limited, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2037400 MW