Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation
England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission
The queue at this substation
| Project | Customer | Technology | Queued MW | Connection date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bodelwyddan BESS and PV | Bodelwyddan Solar & Energy Storage Limited | Storage with solar or wind | 110 | 31 Oct 2029 | Not stated | Scoping |
| Moelfre Energy Park | MOELFRE ENERGY PARK LIMITED | Storage | 158 | 31 Oct 2029 −47 mo | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| Mona Offshore Wind Farm | Mona Offshore Wind Limited | Offshore wind | 1,500 | 31 Oct 2029 | Not stated | Scoping |
| Awel Y Mor | AWEL Y MOR OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITED | Offshore wind | 1,100 | 1 Mar 2030 +35 mo | Not stated | Scoping |
| St Asaph SSE | SSE DE SOLAR HOLDCO LIMITED | Storage with solar or wind | 600 | 1 Nov 2037 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
Left the register since January 2021: North Wales Hybrid (53 MW).
Recent changes
- St Asaph SSEEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 1 Oct 2033 to 31 Oct 2029 (−47 months)−47 mo
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 2 stages (574 MW from 1 Apr 2027, 526 MW from 1 Apr 2028) to 1 stage (1,100 MW from 1 Mar 2030). First connection date +35 months+35 mo
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageMarked as Gate 1
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2026 to 1 Oct 2033 (+83 months)+83 mo
- Bodelwyddan BESS and PVEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from IGP SOLAR 21 LIMITED to Bodelwyddan Solar & Energy Storage Limited
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Awel Y Mor Extension
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Wylfa 400kV Substation to Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Apr 2033 to 31 Oct 2029 (−41 months)−41 mo
- North Wales HybridEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windLeft the register (53 MW from 2 Sep 2026)53 MW
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageTechnology changed from Onshore wind to Storage
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Project Elizabeth (Yellow)
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from BP ALTERNATIVE ENERGY INVESTMENTS LIMITED to Mona Offshore Wind Limited
- St Asaph SSEEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Wylfa 400kV to Wylfa 400kV Substation)
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,100 MW from 1 Apr 2027) to 2 stages (574 MW from 1 Apr 2027, 526 MW from 1 Apr 2028)
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Gwynt y Mor 132/33kV Offshore Substation to Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windTransmission owner changed from OFTO to NGET
- Bodelwyddan BESS and PVEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Bodelwyddan 400kV to Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation)
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Bodelwyddan 400kV to Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation)
- North Wales HybridEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Bodelwyddan 400kV to Bodelwyddan 400kV Substation)
- Bodelwyddan BESS and PVEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from SOLAR 21 LIMITED to IGP SOLAR 21 LIMITED
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Project Elizabeth
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 580 MW to 1,100 MW
- Bodelwyddan BESS and PVEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
- Moelfre Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
- Awel Y MorEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2027 to 1 Apr 2027 (+3 months)+3 mo
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Yellow Offshore Substation to Wylfa 400kV
- Mona Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2033 to 1 Apr 2033 (+3 months)+3 mo
- North Wales HybridEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 9 Feb 2026 to 2 Sep 2026 (+7 months)+7 mo
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?