Hirfynydd and Mynydd Drumaur
EDF ENERGY RENEWABLES LIMITED at Swansea North 400kV Substation
- Connection date
- 31 Oct 2030
- Gate
- Gate 1
- Status
- Scoping
- Technology
- Storage + Solar + Onshore wind
- Total capacity
- 249 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 249 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-001899
- In the register since
- August 2022
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 229.9 | 229.9 | 31 Oct 2030 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
| 2 | 0 | 19.1 | 249 | 6 Dec 2036 | Gate 1 | Scoping |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 8 May 2026 registerStage 1: Marked as Gate 1
- 8 May 2026 registerStage 2: Marked as Gate 1
- 27 Jun 2025 registerRestructured from 1 stage (180 MW from 31 Oct 2029) to 2 stages (230 MW from 31 Oct 2030, 19.1 MW from 6 Dec 2036). First connection date +12 months
- 31 Jan 2025 registerConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2028 to 31 Oct 2029 (+12 months)
- 31 Jan 2025 registerTechnology changed from Solar, Onshore wind to Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Swansea North 400kV to Swansea North 400kV Substation)
- 30 Aug 2022 registerAdded to the register
Also at Swansea North 400kV Substation
Substation view7 other projects, 2 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 747 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 31 Oct 2030.
- Swansea Greener Grid Park - Connection 1SWANSEA GRID SOLUTIONS LIMITED, Storage, Not statedAug 202497 MW
- Swansea Greener Grid Park - Connection 2SWANSEA GRID SOLUTIONS LIMITED, Other, Not statedJul 20250 MW
- Swansea NorthEDF ENERGY RENEWABLES LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Jul 202849.9 MW
- Swansea North Green Energy CentreSWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedOct 20281 GW
- BESS SwanREWE 3 LIMITED, Storage, Not statedOct 2028200 MW
- SwanseaENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2032400 MW
- Peak Gen LlandarcyPEAK GEN POWER 5 LIMITED, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste), Not statedConnected21 MW