Swansea Greener Grid Park - Connection 1
SWANSEA GRID SOLUTIONS LIMITED at Swansea North 400kV Substation
- Connection date
- 31 Aug 2024
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Under Construction/Commissioning
- Planning consent
- Granted 9 Aug 2021
Swansea, reference 2021/0163/FUL · Source: REPD - Technology
- Storage + Reactive compensation
- Total capacity
- 97 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 97 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-001120
- In the register since
- January 2021 or earlier
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 12 | 12 | 31 Aug 2024 | Not stated | Under Construction/Commissioning |
| 2 | 0 | 85 | 97 | 31 Oct 2028 | Not stated | Scoping |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 21 Nov 2025 registerStage 1: Status changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
- 31 Oct 2023 registerCustomer changed from STATKRAFT UK LTD to Swansea Grid Solutions Limited
- 30 May 2023 registerRenamed from Swansea North
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Swansea North 400kV to Swansea North 400kV Substation)
- 29 Nov 2022 registerRestructured from 1 stage (12 MW from 30 Oct 2027) to 2 stages (12 MW from 31 Aug 2024, 85 MW from 31 Oct 2028). First connection date −38 months
- 30 Nov 2021 registerTechnology changed from Storage to Storage, Reactive compensation
- 30 Apr 2021 registerTechnology changed from Storage, Reactive compensation to Storage
Also at Swansea North 400kV Substation
Substation view7 other projects, 2 GW still to connect at this substation in total.
- Swansea Greener Grid Park - Connection 2SWANSEA GRID SOLUTIONS LIMITED, Other, Not statedJul 20250 MW
- Swansea NorthEDF ENERGY RENEWABLES LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Jul 202849.9 MW
- Swansea North Green Energy CentreSWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedOct 20281 GW
- BESS SwanREWE 3 LIMITED, Storage, Not statedOct 2028200 MW
- Hirfynydd and Mynydd DrumaurEDF ENERGY RENEWABLES LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2030249 MW
- SwanseaENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2032400 MW
- Peak Gen LlandarcyPEAK GEN POWER 5 LIMITED, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste), Not statedConnected21 MW