QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

Swansea North Green Energy Centre

SWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED at Swansea North 400kV Substation

Connection date
30 Oct 2028
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Storage + Solar + Demand + Onshore wind
Total capacity
1,025 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
1,025 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-001794
In the register since
June 2022

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1040040030 Oct 2028Not statedScoping
206251,02531 Oct 2033Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 25 Aug 2026 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (1,025 MW from 31 Oct 2028) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2028, 625 MW from 31 Oct 2033)
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Customer changed from INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED to SWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2028 to 31 Oct 2028 (1 day later)
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Customer changed from SWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED to INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED
  • 28 Mar 2025 register
    Customer changed from INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED to SWANSEA NORTH GREEN NG LIMITED
  • 30 May 2023 register
    Capacity changed from 400 MW to 1,025 MW
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Swansea North 400kV to Swansea North 400kV Substation)
  • 30 Jun 2022 register
    Added to the register

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO