Sunderland Royal Hospital
Sunderland Royal Hospital at Offerton
Northern Powergrid Embedded Capacity Register 1MW and Over, September 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Date connected
- Not stated
- Status
- Connected
- Customer
- Sunderland Royal Hospital
- Site name
- Sunderland Royal Hospital
- Address
- Sunderland Royal Hospital, Kayll Road, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, SR4 7TP
- Grid reference
- Easting 437833, northing 556591
- Licence area
- North East (Northern Powergrid)
- Grid supply point
- Offerton
- Bulk supply point
- Offerton
- Primary substation
- Mount Road
- Connection voltage
- 11 kV
- Technology group
- Gas and other fossil
- Energy source 1
- Fossil - Gas, Engine (combustion / reciprocating): 1.2 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 1.2 MW
- Maximum export capacity
- 1.2 MW
- Maximum import capacity
- Not stated
- Flexible connection
- No
- In a connection queue
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Date accepted
- 17 Jun 2016
- Target energisation date
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Export MPAN
- Not stated
- Import MPAN
- Not stated
- Last updated
- 8 Mar 2017
- Tracked since
- March 2026 edition
Change history
Tracked since the March 2026 edition, across 7 editions.
Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.
No change to its status, capacity, technology or customer.
Also at Offerton
GSP view8 other sites at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition, 3 of them at Mount Road, the same primary substation. In all, the sites here total 78.3 MW: 7.7 MW connected, 70.6 MW accepted to connect.
- Sunderland Royal Hospital CHPSunderland Royal Hospital CHP, Gas and other fossil, Mount Road primaryAccepted1.5 MW
- Pennywell Industrial Estate PVPennywell Industrial Estate PV, Solar, Pallion Trading primaryConnected2.09 MW
- Barclays, 5 Admiralty WayBarclays, 5 Admiralty Way, Gas and other fossil, Offerton 33/11kV primaryConnected1.9 MW
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose