QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Thorpe Marsh 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

4projects in the register
2.7 GWstill to connect
1.4 GWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkTHORPE MARSH GREEN ENERGY HUB LIMITEDStorage1,40030 Jan 2027Gate 2Under Construction/Commissioning
Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS I LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind5730 Oct 2028Not statedConsents Approved
Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreTHORPE MARSH NG LTDStorage with solar or wind1,02530 Oct 2030Not statedAwaiting Consents
Fenwick Solar ProjectFENWICK SOLAR PROJECT LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind23816 Apr 2032Not statedScoping

Recent changes

  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED to THORPE MARSH NG LTD
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from STARK ENERGY LIMITED to FENWICK SOLAR PROJECT LIMITED
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 Oct 2026 to 30 Jan 2027 (+3 months)+3 mo
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
  • Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED to ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS I LIMITED
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from THORPE MARSH NG LTD to INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED
  • Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 6 Aug 2025 to 30 Oct 2028 (+39 months)+39 mo
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED to THORPE MARSH NG LTD
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from FENWICK SOLAR PROJECT LIMITED to STARK ENERGY LIMITED
  • Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windRestructured from 2 stages (49.9 MW from 31 Oct 2024, 7.1 MW from 31 Oct 2026) to 1 stage (57 MW from 6 Aug 2025). First connection date +9 months+9 mo
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from STARK ENERGY LIMITED to FENWICK SOLAR PROJECT LIMITED
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from Onpath Energy Limited to Thorpe Marsh Green Energy Hub Limited
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from Banks Renewables Limited to Onpath Energy Limited
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Thorpe Marsh A 400kV Substation to Thorpe Marsh 400kV Substation
  • Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Thorpe Marsh GSP to Thorpe Marsh 400kV Substation
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageConnection point changed from Thorpe Marsh GSP to Thorpe Marsh 400kV Substation
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Thorpe Marsh A 400kV Substation to Thorpe Marsh 400kV Substation
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2030 to 30 Oct 2030 (1 day earlier)
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (625 MW from 31 Aug 2032)
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from Fenwick Solar Project Limited to STARK ENERGY LIMITED
  • Fenwick Solar ProjectEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Thorpe Marsh 1 (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Thorpe Marsh to Thorpe Marsh GSP)
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Thorpe Marsh to Thorpe Marsh GSP)
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Thorpe Marsh A 400kV to Thorpe Marsh A 400kV Substation)
  • Thorpe Marsh Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Thorpe Marsh Energy ParkEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO