QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Exeter 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

4projects in the register
1.2 GWstill to connect
290 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Exeter Main TertiaryEXETER MAIN BATTERY LIMITEDThermal (gas, biomass, waste)571 May 2024 Past dateNot statedScoping
Exeter BESSExeter Storage LimitedStorage68030 Aug 2027Gate 2Consents Approved
Exeter (Tertiary)PIVOTED POWER LLPStorage with solar or wind5716 Jun 2028Not statedAwaiting Consents
Exeter MainENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind40028 Oct 2033Gate 1Scoping

Recent changes

  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • Exeter MainEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Exeter MainEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED to ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITED
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageRestructured from 1 stage (290 MW from 31 Aug 2027) to 2 stages (290 MW from 30 Aug 2027, 390 MW from 31 Oct 2037)
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageRenamed from Exeter Solar PV & BESS
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Connection date moved from 6 Dec 2036 to 16 Jun 2028 (−102 months)−102 mo
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Awaiting Consents
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Capacity changed from 57 MW to 7.1 MW
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage removed (49.9 MW from 1 Nov 2025)
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windTechnology changed from Storage to Storage, Solar
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (49.9 MW from 6 Dec 2036)
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windNew stage added (57 MW from 6 Dec 2036)
  • Exeter MainEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 24 Nov 2031 to 28 Oct 2033 (+23 months)+23 mo
  • Exeter MainEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from STATERA ENERGY LIMITED to Exeter Storage Limited
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from Exeter Main 400kV to Exeter 400kV Substation
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from Exeter Storage Limited to STATERA ENERGY LIMITED
  • Exeter Main TertiaryEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection point changed from Exeter Main 400kV to Exeter 400kV Substation
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from STATERA ENERGY LIMITED to Exeter Storage Limited
  • Exeter BESSEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Exeter Main TertiaryEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Customer changed from EXETER MAIN SOLAR LIMITED to EXETER MAIN BATTERY LIMITED
  • Exeter (Tertiary)England and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 11 Jan 2025 to 1 Nov 2025 (+10 months)+10 mo
  • Exeter Main TertiaryEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Connection date moved from 5 Jan 2024 to 1 May 2024 (+4 months)+4 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO