QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Cottam 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

5projects in the register
2.1 GWstill to connect
600 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
445 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Tillbridge SolarTILLBRIDGE SOLAR LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind50027 Aug 2028Not statedScoping
Cottam Solar PV + BESSCOTTAM SOLAR PROJECT LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind6001 Sep 2029Gate 2Consents Approved
CottamGATE BURTON ENERGY PARK LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind50031 Oct 2029Not statedConsents Approved
Cottam PV & BESSO&G Solar (SPV 44) LimitedStorage with solar or wind50031 Oct 2033Not statedScoping
CDCLUniper UK LimitedThermal (gas, biomass, waste)0ConnectedNot statedBuilt

Left the register since January 2021: Cottam (0 MW).

Recent changes

  • Cottam Solar PV + BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • CDCLEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Customer changed from C.GEN Killingholme Limited to Uniper UK Limited
  • CDCLEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Customer changed from Uniper UK Limited to C.GEN Killingholme Limited
  • Cottam PV & BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Cottam PV & BESS Sub
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 1 Aug 2028 to 27 Aug 2028 (+1 month)+1 mo
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • Cottam Solar PV + BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 1 Oct 2027 to 1 Aug 2028 (+10 months)+10 mo
  • Cottam PV & BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from O&G Solar (SPV 37) Limited to O&G Solar (SPV 44) Limited
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Left the register (0 MW)0 MW
  • Cottam PV & BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Greta II
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Gate Burton Energy Park
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windRenamed from Cottam
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 1: Technology changed from Solar to Storage, Solar
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windStage 2: Technology changed from Solar to Storage, Solar
  • Cottam Solar PV + BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Cottam 400kV to Cottam 400kV Substation)
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from GRETA II LIMITED to TILLBRIDGE SOLAR LIMITED
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from WB ENERGY PARK LIMITED to GATE BURTON ENERGY PARK LIMITED
  • CDCLEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Cottam 400kV to Cottam 400kV Substation)
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Cottam 400kV to Cottam 400kV Substation)
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Cottam 400kV to Cottam 400kV Substation)
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Cottam 400kV to Cottam 400kV Substation)
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from GRETA I LIMITED to GRETA II LIMITED
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection point changed from High Marnham Substation 275kV to Cottam 400kV
  • Cottam Solar PV + BESSEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • CottamEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Tillbridge SolarEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 10 Jan 2027 to 1 Oct 2027 (+9 months)+9 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO