Pembroke BESS
- Connection date
- 7 Mar 2029 +16 months since 9 Dec
- Gate
- Gate 2
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Planning consent
- Granted 31 Jan 2025
Pembrokeshire, reference 24/0600/PA · Source: REPD - Technology
- Storage
- Total capacity
- 350 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 350 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-000337
- In the register since
- January 2021 or earlier
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 285 | 285 | 7 Mar 2029 | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
| 2 | 0 | 65 | 350 | 25 May 2029 | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 18 Sep 2026 registerStage 1: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
- 18 Sep 2026 registerStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 1 Sep 2026 registerRestructured from 1 stage (350 MW from 29 Oct 2027) to 2 stages (285 MW from 7 Mar 2029, 65 MW from 25 May 2029). First connection date +16 months
- 29 Oct 2024 registerConnection date moved from 1 Oct 2026 to 29 Oct 2027 (+13 months)
- 30 Jun 2023 registerConnection point changed from Alverdiscott 400kV Substation to Pembroke 400kV Substation
- 30 May 2023 registerConnection point changed from Pembroke 400kV Substation to Alverdiscott 400kV Substation
- 28 Apr 2023 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Pembroke 400kV to Pembroke 400kV Substation)
- 31 Jan 2023 registerRenamed from Milford Haven
- 31 Jan 2023 registerCustomer changed from EGNEDOL PEMBROKE ECO-POWER LIMITED to RWE GENERATION UK PLC
- 31 Jan 2023 registerTechnology changed from Biomass to Storage
- 23 Dec 2022 registerRenamed from Pembroke BESS
- 23 Dec 2022 registerTechnology changed from Storage to Biomass
- 29 Nov 2022 registerRenamed from Milford Haven
- 29 Nov 2022 registerConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2022 to 1 Oct 2026 (+47 months)
- 29 Nov 2022 registerTechnology changed from Biomass to Storage
Also at Pembroke 400kV Substation
Substation view6 other projects, 1.5 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 300 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 7 Mar 2029.
- Llŷr Floating WindLlŷr Floating Wind Limited, Offshore wind, Not statedOct 2028200 MW
- Pembroke BESS and Solar StationRenesola Hercules Energy 1 Limited, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedOct 202899.9 MW
- Llywelyn Floating Offshore Wind FarmRenantis UK Limited, Offshore wind, Gate 1Mar 2029300 MW
- Valorous Offshore Wind FarmBlue Gem Wind Limited, Offshore wind, Not statedOct 2031300 MW
- Lambeeth 240MWECODEV GROUP LTD, Storage, Gate 1Dec 2037240 MW
- Pembroke Power StationRWE Generation UK Plc, Other, Not statedConnected2.2 GW