QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Distribution / UKPN / Grid supply point

Rayleigh

Grid supply point in Eastern Power Networks (EPN)

UKPN Embedded Capacity Register 2 – 1MW and above, October 2026 edition

48sites of 1 MW and over
1.4 GWcapacity
0.5 GWconnected (32 sites)
0.9 GWaccepted to connect (16 sites)

Capacity by technology

TechnologySitesCapacityConnectedAccepted to connect
Solar27625 MW249 MW376 MW
Storage6495 MW155 MW340 MW
Wind4184 MW64 MW120 MW
Gas and other fossil856 MW47.5 MW8.5 MW
Bioenergy and waste312.2 MW12.2 MW–

Storage capacity in MWh: no site here states any.

Each site is grouped by its first energy source, as the register names it.

How busy is each primary substation?

Each primary substation at this grid supply point in the October 2026 edition, under the bulk supply point its register gives. Select a row to see its sites.

Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.

Primary substationBulk supply pointSitesConnectedAccepted to connect
Maldon Grid 33kV114 MW–
Maldon Grid 33kV559.1 MW40 MW
Chelmsford East Grid 33kV1–8.6 MW
Chelmsford East Grid 33kV13.5 MW–
Chelmsford East Grid 33kV11.7 MW–
Chelmsford East Grid 33kV215 MW41.8 MW
Fleethall Grid 33kV15 MW–
Fleethall Grid 33kV13.2 MW–
Fleethall Grid 33kV12.6 MW–
Fleethall Grid 33kV339.1 MW17 MW
Nevendon Grid 33kV14.6 MW–
Nevendon Grid 33kV11.2 MW–
Nevendon Grid 33kV653 MW7 MW
Abberton Grid 33kV411.6 MW–
Abberton Grid 33kV444.8 MW–
Rayleigh Local 33kV2–30 MW
Southend Grid 33kV110 MW–
Not stated1–240 MW
Not stated11260 MW459 MW

What changed recently

Changes to the sites here found in both of two consecutive monthly editions, the latest first.

September 2026 edition to October 2026 edition: 48 sites matched. Every September site and every October site at this grid supply point had a match in the other edition.

No change to the status, capacity, technology or customer of the sites here in the editions of UKPN's register QueueWatch holds.

QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my project

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

How power reaches a site

A grid supply point (GSP) is where the national grid hands power to the local network. A bulk supply point (BSP) steps it down to a lower voltage for an area. A primary substation steps it down again for the streets and sites nearby. Most small and medium sites connect at a primary. Not every network has all three levels.