QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Lackenby 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

3projects in the register
1.8 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
1.3 GWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Dogger Bank Project CDOGGERBANK OFFSHORE WIND FARM PROJECT 3 PROJCO LIMITEDOffshore wind1,2001 Apr 2025 Past dateNot statedConsents Approved
Crathorne Estate BESS and Solar FarmExagen Development LimitedStorage with solar or wind60030 Oct 2035Gate 1Scoping
Sofia Offshore Wind FarmSOFIA OFFSHORE WIND FARM LIMITEDOffshore wind0ConnectedNot statedBuilt

Recent changes

  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore wind1,320 MW now connectedConnected
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windStatus changed from Scoping to Built
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Dogger Bank 220kV Offshores to Lackenby 400kV Substation
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Teeside Connection Node A 132kV Substation to Lackenby 400kV Substation
  • Crathorne Estate BESS and Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Lackenby GSP to Teeside Connection Node A 132kV Substation
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage removed (0 MW)
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Capacity changed from 132 MW to 0 MW
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windStage 1: Connection date removed (was 1 Sep 2024)
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,188 MW from 1 Apr 2025) to 1 stage (1,320 MW from 30 Jan 2026). First connection date +10 months+10 mo
  • Crathorne Estate BESS and Solar FarmEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Lackenby to Lackenby GSP)
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,320 MW from 1 Apr 2024) to 2 stages (132 MW from 1 Sep 2024, 1,188 MW from 1 Apr 2025). First connection date +5 months+5 mo
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from DOGGERBANK OFFSHORE WIND FARM PROJECT 3 HOLDCO LIMITED to DOGGERBANK OFFSHORE WIND FARM PROJECT 3 PROJCO LIMITED
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Apr 2023 to 1 Apr 2024 (+12 months)+12 mo
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,320 MW to 1,200 MW
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Apr 2024 to 1 Apr 2025 (+12 months)+12 mo
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Dogger Bank Project 2
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,500 MW to 1,320 MW
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Dogger Bank 220kV Offshores to Lackenby
  • Dogger Bank Project CEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2024 to 1 Apr 2024 (+3 months)+3 mo
  • Sofia Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 4 Jan 2023 to 1 Apr 2023 (+3 months)+3 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO