QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

Willington Green Energy Centre

WILLINGTON NG LIMITED at Willington 400kV Substation

Connection date
30 Oct 2028
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Demand + Storage + Solar
Total capacity
1,025 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
1,025 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-001797
In the register since
April 2022

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1040040030 Oct 2028Not statedScoping
206251,02530 Oct 2031Not statedAwaiting Consents

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 18 Sep 2026 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 1,025 MW to 400 MW
  • 18 Sep 2026 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 0 MW to 625 MW
  • 18 Sep 2026 register
    Stage removed (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
  • 25 Aug 2026 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 400 MW to 1,025 MW
  • 25 Aug 2026 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 625 MW to 0 MW
  • 25 Aug 2026 register
    New stage added (0 MW from 30 Oct 2037)
  • 16 Jan 2026 register
    Customer changed from WILLINGTON GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to WILLINGTON NG LIMITED
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2026 to 30 Oct 2028 (+24 months)
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation to Storage, Solar
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2029 to 30 Oct 2031 (+24 months)
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation to Storage, Solar
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Customer changed from WILLINGTON NG LIMITED to WILLINGTON GREEN ENERGY LIMITED
  • 28 Mar 2025 register
    Customer changed from WILLINGTON GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to WILLINGTON NG LIMITED
  • 26 Mar 2024 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation
  • 26 Mar 2024 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Storage, Solar, Reactive compensation
  • 28 Jul 2023 register
    New stage added (625 MW from 30 Oct 2029)
  • 29 Apr 2022 register
    Added to the register

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO