Cilfynydd Green Energy Centre
- Connection date
- 30 Oct 2029 +12 months since 9 Dec
- Gate
- Gate 1
- Status
- Awaiting Consents
- Technology
- Demand + Storage + Solar + Onshore wind
- Total capacity
- 1,025 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 1,025 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-001663
- In the register since
- October 2021
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 400 | 400 | 30 Oct 2029 | Gate 1 | Awaiting Consents |
| 2 | 0 | 625 | 1,025 | 31 Oct 2033 | Gate 1 | Awaiting Consents |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 1 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2028 to 30 Oct 2029 (+12 months)
- 17 Apr 2026 registerStage 1: Marked as Gate 1
- 17 Apr 2026 registerStage 2: Marked as Gate 1
- 16 Jan 2026 registerCustomer changed from CILFYNYDD GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to CILFYNYDD NG LIMITED
- 29 Jul 2025 registerStage 1: Technology changed from Demand, Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
- 29 Jul 2025 registerStage 2: Technology changed from Demand, Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar, Onshore wind
- 27 Jun 2025 registerCustomer changed from CILFYNYDD NG LIMITED to CILFYNYDD GREEN ENERGY LIMITED
- 27 Jun 2025 registerStage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
- 27 Jun 2025 registerStage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Demand, Storage, Solar
- 30 May 2025 registerRenamed from CILFYNYDD NG LIMITED
- 28 Mar 2025 registerRenamed from Cilfynydd Green Energy Centre
- 28 Mar 2025 registerCustomer changed from CILFYNYDD GREEN ENERGY LIMITED to CILFYNYDD NG LIMITED
- 28 Jul 2023 registerRestructured from 1 stage (1,025 MW from 30 Oct 2028) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2028, 625 MW from 31 Oct 2033)
- 30 May 2023 registerCapacity changed from 400 MW to 1,025 MW
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Cilfynydd to Cilfynydd GSP)
- 29 Oct 2021 registerAdded to the register
Also at Cilfynydd 400kV Substation
Substation view8 other projects, 3 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 418 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 30 Oct 2029.
- Cilfynydd Grid Stability ServicesCILFYNYDD GRID SERVICES LIMITED, Other, Gate 2Mar 20270 MW
- Twyn Hywel CillfynyddTwyn Hywel Energy Park Ltd, Onshore wind, Not statedApr 2027108 MW
- Merthyr Solar and BatteryEEW RENEWABLES LTD, Solar, Gate 1May 2029175 MW
- BESS CilfynyddREWE 2 LIMITED, Storage, Not statedJul 2029200 MW
- CilfynyddENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2030400 MW
- Penrhiwdarren FarmQAIR RENEWABLES UK LIMITED, Storage, Gate 1Sep 2037500 MW
- Cilfynydd 2REWE 8 LIMITED, Storage, Not statedOct 2037240 MW
- Cilfynydd BESSCilfynydd BESS Limited, Storage, Gate 1Oct 2037350 MW