QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / North Scotland

Green Volt Offshore Windfarm

Green Volt Offshore Windfarm Ltd at New Deer 400kV Substation

Connection date
31 Mar 2029
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Planning consent
Granted 19 Apr 2024
Marine Scotland · Source: REPD
Contract for Difference
Allocation Round 6
Technology
Demand + Offshore wind
Total capacity
560 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
560 MW
Transmission owner
SSEN Transmission (SHET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
North Scotland
Project number
PRO-001469
In the register since
August 2021

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1030030031 Mar 2029Not statedScoping
2026056031 Oct 2033Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Customer changed from FLOTATION ENERGY LIMITED to Green Volt Offshore Windfarm Ltd
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 0 MW to 300 MW
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Apr 2028 to 31 Mar 2029 (+12 months)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 300 MW to 260 MW
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Mar 2029 to 31 Oct 2033 (+55 months)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage removed (0 MW from 31 Oct 2029)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage removed (260 MW from 31 Oct 2033)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (0 MW from 1 Apr 2028)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (0 MW from 31 Oct 2029)
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    New stage added (260 MW from 31 Oct 2033)
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Customer changed from FLOTATION ENERGY PLC to FLOTATION ENERGY LIMITED
  • 28 Jun 2024 register
    Connection point changed from Green Volt 220/66kV Offshore Substation to New Deer 400kV Substation
  • 28 Jun 2024 register
    Technology changed from Offshore wind to Demand, Offshore wind
  • 26 Apr 2024 register
    Connection point changed from New Deer 400kV Substation to Green Volt 220/66kV Offshore Substation
  • 26 Apr 2024 register
    Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 31 Mar 2029 (−7 months)
  • 29 Dec 2023 register
    Renamed from Whirlwind Offshore Wind Farm
  • 31 Jan 2023 register
    Customer changed from FLOTATION ENERGY LIMITED to FLOTATION ENERGY PLC
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Customer changed from FLOTATION ENERGY PLC to FLOTATION ENERGY LIMITED
  • 31 Aug 2021 register
    Added to the register

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO

Planning consent

The planning decision or stage for this project, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition, with the planning authority and its reference. QueueWatch matched the project to that record. NESO’s status can lag behind planning decisions, so the two may differ.

How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.

Contract for Difference

The Contracts for Difference allocation round for this project, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition. QueueWatch matched the project to that record.

How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.