QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

West Burton B

WEST BURTON B LIMITED at West Burton 400kV Substation

Connection date
Increase at an existing station: +500 MW from 30 Oct 2027
Gate
Not stated
Status
Built
Technology
Gas (CCGT) + Storage
Total capacity
1,881 MW
Connected now
1,333 MW
Still to connect
548 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-000369
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
11,3335001,83330 Oct 2027Not statedBuilt
20481,88130 Oct 2034Not statedBuilt

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage removed (0 MW from 30 Oct 2033)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (0 MW from 30 Oct 2033)
  • 27 Aug 2024 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (1,333 MW connected + 500 MW from 31 Oct 2032) to 2 stages (1,333 MW connected + 500 MW from 30 Oct 2027, 48 MW from 30 Oct 2034). First connection date −60 months
  • 29 Dec 2023 register
    Status changed from Scoping to Built
  • 28 Nov 2023 register
    Capacity changed from 0 MW to 500 MW
  • 28 Nov 2023 register
    Connection date set to 31 Oct 2032
  • 28 Nov 2023 register
    Status changed from Built to Scoping
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from West Burton 400kV to West Burton 400kV Substation)
  • 30 Aug 2022 register
    Customer changed from EDF ENERGY (THERMAL GENERATION) LIMITED to WEST BURTON B LIMITED
  • 30 Aug 2022 register
    Technology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Storage

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO