Kellwood BESS
Geocore Ltd, at Dumfries
SPEN Embedded Capacity Register >1MW, September 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Target energisation date
- 14 Jun 2030
- Status
- Accepted to connect
- Customer
- Geocore Ltd,
- Site name
- Kellwood BESS
- Address
- Kellwood Road, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, DG1 4HG
- Grid reference
- Easting 298431, northing 576056
- Licence area
- Central and Southern Scotland (SPD)
- Grid supply point
- Dumfries
- Bulk supply point
- Not stated
- Primary substation
- Not stated
- Connection voltage
- 33 kV
- Technology group
- Storage
- Energy source 1
- Stored Energy, Storage - Electrochemical (Batteries): 40.08 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 40.08 MW
- Change to maximum export capacity
- 40 MW
- Change to maximum import capacity
- 40 MW
- Flexible connection
- Yes
- In a connection queue
- Yes
- Date accepted
- 4 Feb 2026
- Date connected
- Not stated
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by SPEN
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- SPT-RI-003, SPT-RI-161, SPT-RI-168, SPT-RI-1796, SPT-RI-1873, SPT-RI-200, SPT-RI-2073, SPT-RI-2083, SPT-RI-2084, SPT-RI-2085, SPT-RI-222, SPT-RI-227, SPT-RI-230, SPT-RI-231, SPT-RI-233, SPT-RI-2731, SPT-RI-2741, SPT-RI-2862, SPT-RI-2876, SPT-RI-2877, SPT-RI-288, SPT-RI-2943, SPT-RI-298, SPT-RI-3002, SPT-RI-3159, SPT-RI-3309, SPT-RI-3315, SPT-RI-3498, SPT-RI-3884, SPT-RI-4631
- Export MPAN
- Not stated
- Import MPAN
- Not stated
- Last updated
- 28 Mar 2023
- Tracked since
- March 2026 edition
Change history
Tracked since the March 2026 edition, across 7 editions.
Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.
No change to its status, capacity, technology or customer.
Also at Dumfries
GSP view6 other sites at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition. In all, the sites here total 176 MW: 56 MW connected, 120 MW accepted to connect.
- Dargavel BiomassScotgen (Dumfries) Ltd, Bioenergy and waste, HEATHHALL (11kV) primaryConnected6.5 MW
- West Roucan Farm / Tinwald HouseWest Roucan Farm, Bioenergy and waste, HEATHHALL (11kV) primaryConnected1.2 MW
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose