Sherburn Tower Solar PV & BESS
Sherburn Tower Solar PV & BESS at Stella North
Northern Powergrid Embedded Capacity Register 1MW and Over, June 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Target energisation date
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Status
- Accepted to connect
- Customer
- Sherburn Tower Solar PV & BESS
- Site name
- Sherburn Tower Solar PV & BESS
- Address
- Sherburn Tower Farm, Ashtree Lane, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, NE39 1AG
- Grid reference
- Easting 415848, northing 559572
- Licence area
- North East (Northern Powergrid)
- Grid supply point
- Stella North
- Bulk supply point
- Dunston
- Primary substation
- Sherburn Solar
- Connection voltage
- 66 kV
- Technology group
- Solar
- Energy source 1
- Solar, Photovoltaic: 31.35 MW registered
- Energy source 2
- Stored Energy (all stored energy irrespective of the original energy source), Storage - Electrochemical (Batteries): 23 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 54.35 MW
- Change to maximum export capacity
- 54.35 MW
- Change to maximum import capacity
- 28.5 MW
- Flexible connection
- No
- In a connection queue
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Date accepted
- 1 Dec 2021
- Date connected
- Not stated
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- Not published by Northern Powergrid
- Export MPAN
- Not stated
- Import MPAN
- Not stated
- Last updated
- 19 Aug 2024
- Tracked since
- March 2026 edition
Change history
Tracked from the March 2026 edition to the June 2026 edition, across 4 editions.
Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.
- July 2026 editionNot found in this edition by its MPAN, grid reference or name and postcode
No change to its status, capacity, technology or customer.
Also at Stella North
GSP view15 other sites at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition. In all, the sites here total 454 MW: 37 MW connected, 417 MW accepted to connect.
- Dewley Hill Hybrid BESS & SPVDewley Hill Hybrid BESS & SPV, Solar, Dewley Hill Direct primaryAccepted150 MW
- Queen Victoria Royal InfirmaryQueen Victoria Royal Infirmary, Gas and other fossil, University primaryConnected12 MW
- Royal Victoria InfirmaryRoyal Victoria Infirmary, Gas and other fossil, University primaryConnected10.925 MW
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose