QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Cellarhead 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

4projects in the register
1.4 GWstill to connect
300 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageC & S ENERGY LIMITEDStorage30013 Sep 2028 +14 moGate 2Under Construction/Commissioning
Cellarhead Green Energy CentreS & C ENERGY LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind40030 Oct 2028Not statedAwaiting Consents
CellarheadENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITEDStorage with solar or wind40031 Oct 2033Gate 1Scoping
Thorney EdgeARL Energy Development LimitedStorage30030 Nov 2037Not statedScoping

Left the register since January 2021: Bird Grove/Rownall (57 MW).

Recent changes

  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Awaiting Consents to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • CellarheadEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2031 to 31 Oct 2033 (+24 months)+24 mo
  • CellarheadEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2033 to 31 Oct 2031 (−24 months)−24 mo
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 16 Jul 2027 to 13 Sep 2028 (+14 months)+14 mo
  • CellarheadEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windMarked as Gate 1
  • CellarheadEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS LIMITED to ENSO GREEN HOLDINGS X LIMITED
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 Jun 2026 to 16 Jul 2027 (+13 months)+13 mo
  • Cellarhead Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from CELLARHEAD GREEN NG LIMITED to S & C ENERGY LIMITED
  • Cellarhead Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windCustomer changed from INNOVA RENEWABLES LIMITED to CELLARHEAD GREEN NG LIMITED
  • Thorney EdgeEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from ARLINGTON (GROUP SERVICES) LIMITED to ARL Energy Development Limited
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 May 2024 to 30 Jun 2026 (+25 months)+25 mo
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarLeft the register (57 MW from 1 Jun 2024)57 MW
  • CellarheadEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Thorney EdgeEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Cellarhead 400KV to Cellarhead 400kV Substation)
  • Cellarhead Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windSubstation name updated in the register (from Cellarhead 400KV to Cellarhead 400kV Substation)
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarSubstation name updated in the register (from Cellarhead 400kV to Cellarhead 400kV Substation)
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarTechnology changed from Storage, Solar to Solar
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarConnection date moved from 1 May 2024 to 1 Jun 2024 (+1 month)+1 mo
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarTechnology changed from Solar to Storage, Solar
  • Cellarhead Green Energy CentreEngland and Wales, Storage with solar or windAdded to the registerNew
  • Cellarhead 400kV Energy StorageEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarRenamed from Cellarhead
  • Bird Grove/RownallEngland and Wales, SolarConnection date moved from 5 Jan 2024 to 1 May 2024 (+4 months)+4 mo
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO