Carrington 400KV Substation
England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission
The queue at this substation
| Project | Customer | Technology | Queued MW | Connection date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous) | CRYOBATTERY ONE LIMITED | Storage | 49.9 | 8 Nov 2026 | Not stated | Under Construction/Commissioning |
| Carrington | CARRINGTON STORAGE LIMITED | Storage | 680 | 31 Oct 2027 +12 mo | Gate 2 | Consents Approved |
| Trafford 2 BESS | FUTURE POINT MANCHESTER LIMITED | Storage | 1,400 | 30 Oct 2038 | Not stated | Scoping |
Left the register since January 2021: CPG Power (49.9 MW).
Recent changes
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 30 Oct 2026 to 31 Oct 2027 (+12 months)+12 mo
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageTechnology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Storage
- Trafford 2 BESSEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from CARLTON POWER DEVELOPMENTS NO. 8 LIMITED to FUTURE POINT MANCHESTER LIMITED
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageRestructured from 2 stages (1,040 MW from 30 Oct 2025, 1,040 MW from 30 Oct 2036) to 1 stage (680 MW from 30 Oct 2026). First connection date +12 months+12 mo
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageStage 1: Status changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageStage 2: Status changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageRestructured from 1 stage (49.9 MW from 31 Oct 2024) to 2 stages (0 MW from 8 May 2026, 49.9 MW from 8 Nov 2026). First connection date +24 months+24 mo
- Trafford 2 BESSEngland and Wales, StorageAdded to the registerNew
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageRenamed from Trafford Power
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageCustomer changed from WAINSTONES ENERGY LIMITED to Carrington Storage Limited
- CPG PowerEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Left the register (49.9 MW from 30 Jun 2026)49.9 MW
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageRestructured from 1 stage (2,050 MW from 15 Jul 2020) to 2 stages (1,040 MW from 30 Oct 2025, 1,040 MW from 30 Oct 2036). First connection date +63 months+63 mo
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageTechnology changed from Storage to Storage, Reactive compensation
- CarringtonEngland and Wales, StorageSubstation name updated in the register (from Carrington 400kV to Carrington 400KV Substation)
- CPG PowerEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Carrington 400kV to Carrington 400KV Substation)
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageConnection date moved from 26 Aug 2023 to 31 Oct 2024 (+14 months)+14 mo
- Cryogenic Battery System (Synchronous)England and Wales, StorageStatus changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?