QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Birkhill Wood 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

3projects in the register
4.4 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Dogger Bank South EastRWE Renewables UK Dogger Bank South (East) LimitedOffshore wind1,45030 Oct 2030Not statedScoping
Dogger Bank South WestRWE RENEWABLES UK DOGGER BANK SOUTH (WEST) LIMITEDOffshore wind1,45030 Oct 2030Not statedScoping
Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmDoggerbank Offshore Wind Farm Project 4 Projco LimitedOffshore wind1,45031 Oct 2031Not statedScoping

Recent changes

  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Gatroben Offshore Substation to Birkhill Wood 400kV Substation
  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCapacity changed from 1,320 MW to 1,450 MW
  • Dogger Bank South EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from RWE North Sea Offshore Substation to Birkhill Wood 400kV Substation
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Wylfa 400kV Substation to Birkhill Wood 400kV Substation
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from RWE RENEWABLES UK LIMITED to RWE RENEWABLES UK DOGGER BANK SOUTH (WEST) LIMITED
  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Gatroben Offshore Wind Farm
  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from GATROBEN OFFSHORE DEVELOPMENTS 2 LIMITED to Doggerbank Offshore Wind Farm Project 4 Projco Limited
  • Dogger Bank South EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windCustomer changed from RWE RENEWABLES UK LIMITED to RWE Renewables UK Dogger Bank South (East) Limited
  • Dogger Bank South EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,500 MW from 1 Jan 2033) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2030, 1,050 MW from 30 Nov 2031). First connection date −26 months−26 mo
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windRestructured from 1 stage (1,500 MW from 1 Apr 2033) to 2 stages (400 MW from 30 Oct 2030, 1,050 MW from 30 Nov 2031). First connection date −29 months−29 mo
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from North Sea B (Irish Sea)
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Wylfa 400kV to Wylfa 400kV Substation)
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windConnection date moved from 1 Jan 2033 to 1 Apr 2033 (+3 months)+3 mo
  • Dogger Bank South EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from North Sea Offshore Substation
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Irish Sea Offshore Substation
  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windRenamed from Doggerbank C East
  • Dogger Bank D Offshore Wind FarmEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Dogger Bank South EastEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Dogger Bank South WestEngland and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO