QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / South Scotland

Berwick Bank Offshore Wind Farm B

Berwick Bank B Limited at Branxton 400kV Substation

Connection date
31 Oct 2029
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Offshore wind
Total capacity
1,380 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
1,380 MW
Transmission owner
SP Energy Networks (SPT)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
South Scotland
Project number
PRO-002628
In the register since
March 2023

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
101,1501,15031 Oct 2029Not statedScoping
202301,38030 Jun 2031Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 19 Dec 2025 register
    Connection point changed from Branxton 400/132KV Substation to Branxton 400kV Substation
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Connection point changed from Berwick Bank B 275/66kV Offshore Substation to Branxton 400/132KV Substation
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 250 MW to 1,150 MW
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 900 MW to 230 MW
  • 27 Jun 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 30 Jun 2031 (+20 months)
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2029 to 31 Oct 2029 (1 day later)
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2029 to 31 Oct 2029 (1 day later)
  • 27 Aug 2024 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 27 Nov 2027 to 30 Oct 2029 (+23 months)
  • 27 Aug 2024 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 30 Dec 2027 to 30 Oct 2029 (+22 months)
  • 31 Mar 2023 register
    Added to the register

Also at Branxton 400kV Substation

Substation view

2 other projects, 3.5 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 1.9 GW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 31 Oct 2029.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO