Cowley Energy Storage
- Connection date
- 14 Jul 2028 −16 months since 9 Dec
- Gate
- Gate 2
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Technology
- Storage
- Total capacity
- 200 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 200 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-002066
- In the register since
- December 2022
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 30 Oct 2026 registerStage removed (100 MW from 6 Dec 2036)
- 27 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 14 Jul 2028 (−16 months)
- 27 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 27 Oct 2026 registerStage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
- 29 Jul 2025 registerRestructured from 1 stage (200 MW from 25 Oct 2028) to 2 stages (200 MW from 31 Oct 2029, 100 MW from 6 Dec 2036). First connection date +12 months
- 31 Jan 2025 registerCustomer changed from Penso Power Limited to BW ESS DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED
- 28 Jun 2024 registerStatus changed from Awaiting Consents to Scoping
- 23 Dec 2022 registerAdded to the register
Also at Cowley 400kV Substation
Substation view4 other projects, 1.2 GW still to connect at this substation in total. 57 MW is due to connect here before this project’s connection date of 14 Jul 2028.
- Cowley (Tertiary)COWLEY BALDON GREEN LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Not statedNov 202557 MW
- Cowley FarmCOWLEY 2 RENEWABLES LTD, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2038200 MW
- Cowley Farm 2COWLEY 7 RENEWABLES LTD, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Nov 2038700 MW
- CowleyPIVOTED POWER LLP, Storage, Not statedConnected49.9 MW