QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales
Connection date
4 Oct 2030
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Gas (CCGT) + Demand + Storage + Hydrogen + Gas (OCGT)
Total capacity
1,420 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
1,420 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-001020
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
101,2201,2204 Oct 2030Not statedScoping
202001,4201 Jun 2034Not statedAwaiting Consents

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 310 MW to 1,220 MW
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 910 MW to 200 MW
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 4 Oct 2030 to 1 Jun 2034 (+44 months)
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage removed (200 MW from 1 Jun 2034)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 6 Oct 2028 to 4 Oct 2030 (+24 months)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT), Hydrogen
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT), Hydrogen
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (600 MW from 1 Jun 2034) to 1 stage (200 MW from 1 Jun 2034)
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Stage 3: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Demand, Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 29 Aug 2023 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 29 Aug 2023 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 29 Aug 2023 register
    Stage 3: Technology changed from Gas (CCGT) to Gas (CCGT), Storage, Gas (OCGT)
  • 28 Apr 2023 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (1,820 MW from 1 Sep 2026) to 3 stages (310 MW from 6 Oct 2028, 910 MW from 4 Oct 2030, 600 MW from 1 Jun 2034). First connection date +25 months
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Connection point changed from Ferrybridge GSP to Ferrybridge C 275kV Substation
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Ferrybridge to Ferrybridge GSP)
  • 26 Feb 2021 register
    Connection date moved from 9 Jan 2026 to 1 Sep 2026 (+8 months)

Also at Ferrybridge C 275kV Substation

Substation view

1 other project, 1.7 GW still to connect at this substation in total.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO