Sainsburys regional distribution centre
Sainsbury's supermarkets limited at Grendon 132Kv S Stn
NGED Embedded Capacity Register, August 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Date connected
- 1 Feb 2018
- Status
- Connected
- Customer
- Sainsbury's supermarkets limited
- Site name
- Sainsburys regional distribution centre
- Address
- Sainsburys Regional Distribution Centre, Nectar Way, Swan Valley, Northampton, Northamptonshire, NN4 9BX
- Grid reference
- Easting 472049, northing 258172
- Licence area
- East Midlands
- Grid supply point
- Grendon 132Kv S Stn
- Bulk supply point
- Northampton 33Kv S Stn
- Primary substation
- Pineham 33 11Kv S Stn
- Connection voltage
- 11 kV
- Technology group
- Gas and other fossil
- Energy source 1
- Fossil - Gas, Engine (combustion / reciprocating): 4.8 MW registered
- Energy source 2
- Stored Energy (all stored energy irrespective of the original energy source), Storage - Thermal: 1.287 MW registered
- Energy source 3
- Solar, Photovoltaic: 1.2 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 7.287 MW
- Maximum export capacity
- 0.005 MW
- Maximum import capacity
- 1.188 MW
- Flexible connection
- Not published by NGED
- In a connection queue
- Not published by NGED
- Date accepted
- Not stated
- Target energisation date
- Not stated
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by NGED
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- Not published by NGED
- Export MPAN
- 1160001076673
- Import MPAN
- 1160000741043
- Last updated
- 6 Aug 2026
- Tracked since
- August 2026 edition
Change history
Tracked since the August 2026 edition, the only one QueueWatch holds so far.
Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.
Changes will show from the next edition.
Also at Grendon 132Kv S Stn
GSP view80 other sites at this grid supply point in the August 2026 edition, 1 of them at Pineham 33 11Kv S Stn, the same primary substation. In all, the sites here total 2 GW: 0.4 GW connected, 1.6 GW accepted to connect.
- Sainsburys dc6Sainsbury's supermarkets limited, Gas and other fossil, Pineham 33 11Kv S Stn primaryConnected3.6 MW
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose