QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

ESB ASSET DEVELOPMENT UK LIMITED

Customer named in the TEC register

5projects in the register
1.3 GWstill to connect
96 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
0 MWconnected now

Projects

ProjectConnection siteTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
West TorrisdaleCarradale 2 132/33kV GSP SubstationOnshore wind5031 May 2028Not statedScoping
Chleansaid Wind FarmChleansaid Wind Farm 132kV SubstationOnshore wind9610 Sep 2028 +13 moGate 2Consents Approved
Millmoor Rig Wind FarmHawick GSPOnshore wind92.830 Oct 2029Not statedScoping
Craigneil Wind FarmFetteresso 132/33kV GSP SubstationOnshore wind4231 Oct 2030Not statedScoping
Celtic Sea Offshore Wind Farm (ESB)CELTIC SEA 275/66KV OFFSHORE SUBSTATIONOffshore wind1,00031 Oct 2031Gate 1Scoping

Left the register since January 2021: CPG Power (49.9 MW), ESB Blackhillock Synchronous Compensation (0 MW), Hunterston Synchronous Compensation (0 MW), Spittal Synchronous Compensation (0 MW).

Recent changes

  • Chleansaid Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windStatus changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • West TorrisdaleNorth Scotland, Onshore windConnection point changed from Carradale 1 GSP to Carradale 2 132/33kV GSP Substation
  • Craigneil Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Fetteresso GSP to Fetteresso 132/33kV GSP Substation)
  • Chleansaid Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 31 Jul 2027 to 10 Sep 2028 (+13 months)+13 mo
  • Chleansaid Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windGiven a Gate 2 connection offerGate 2
  • Celtic Sea Offshore Wind Farm (ESB)England and Wales, Offshore windConnection point changed from Alverdiscott 400kV Substation to CELTIC SEA 275/66KV OFFSHORE SUBSTATION
  • Celtic Sea Offshore Wind Farm (ESB)England and Wales, Offshore windMarked as Gate 1
  • Craigneil Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • West TorrisdaleNorth Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 30 Apr 2027 to 31 May 2028 (+13 months)+13 mo
  • CPG PowerEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Left the register (49.9 MW from 30 Jun 2026)49.9 MW
  • Millmoor Rig Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Hawick 132/33kV to Hawick GSP)
  • Millmoor Rig Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Hawick GSP to Hawick 132/33kV)
  • Chleansaid Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Chleansaid Wind Farm 132kV to Chleansaid Wind Farm 132kV Substation)
  • West TorrisdaleNorth Scotland, Onshore windConnection point changed from Carradale GSP to Carradale 1 GSP
  • Millmoor Rig Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Hawick to Hawick GSP)
  • CPG PowerEngland and Wales, Thermal (gas, biomass, waste)Substation name updated in the register (from Carrington 400kV to Carrington 400KV Substation)
  • Celtic Sea Offshore Wind Farm (ESB)England and Wales, Offshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • West TorrisdaleNorth Scotland, Onshore windConnection date moved from 31 Oct 2026 to 30 Apr 2027 (+6 months)+6 mo
  • Millmoor Rig Wind FarmSouth Scotland, Onshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • Spittal Synchronous CompensationNorth Scotland, OtherLeft the register (0 MW from 30 Oct 2023)0 MW
  • ESB Blackhillock Synchronous CompensationNorth Scotland, OtherLeft the register (0 MW from 31 Oct 2023)0 MW
  • Hunterston Synchronous CompensationSouth Scotland, OtherLeft the register (0 MW from 30 Oct 2024)0 MW
  • ESB Blackhillock Synchronous CompensationNorth Scotland, OtherAdded to the registerNew
  • Hunterston Synchronous CompensationSouth Scotland, OtherAdded to the registerNew
  • Spittal Synchronous CompensationNorth Scotland, OtherAdded to the registerNew
  • Chleansaid Wind FarmNorth Scotland, Onshore windAdded to the registerNew
  • West TorrisdaleNorth Scotland, Onshore windSubstation name updated in the register (from Carradale to Carradale GSP)
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO