QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / Substation

Sizewell 400kV Substation

England and Wales, National Grid Electricity Transmission

2projects in the register
3.3 GWstill to connect
0 MWof that with Gate 2 offers
1.2 GWconnected now

The queue at this substation

ProjectCustomerTechnologyQueued MWConnection dateGateStatus
Sizewell CSizewell C LimitedNuclear3,34031 Jul 2035Not statedConsents Approved
Sizewell BEDF Energy Nuclear Generation LimitedNuclear0ConnectedNot statedBuilt

Recent changes

  • Sizewell BEngland and Wales, NuclearConnection point changed from Sizewell 132kV Substation to Sizewell 400kV Substation
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearStage 1: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearStage 2: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 31 Jul 2035 (+69 months)+69 mo
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearStage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2030 to 31 Jul 2036 (+69 months)+69 mo
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearCustomer changed from NNB GENERATION COMPANY (SZC) LTD to Sizewell C Limited
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearCustomer changed from EDF ENERGY NUCLEAR GENERATION LIMITED to NNB GENERATION COMPANY (SZC) LTD
  • Sizewell BEngland and Wales, NuclearSubstation name updated in the register (from Sizewell 132kV to Sizewell 132kV Substation)
  • Sizewell CEngland and Wales, NuclearSubstation name updated in the register (from Sizewell 400kV to Sizewell 400kV Substation)
  • Sizewell BEngland and Wales, NuclearRestructured from 2 stages (7 MW from 1 Jan 2021, 1,223 MW connected) to 1 stage (1,230 MW connected)
QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the public TEC register. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my projectSee use cases

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose

See how we’d price it: Sell now, or wait for your Gate 2 offer?

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO