QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / North Scotland

Zenobe Blackhillock 300 MW

ZENOBE BLACKHILLOCK LIMITED at Blackhillock 275kV Substation

Connection date
1 Apr 2026
Gate
Not stated
Status
Consents Approved
Technology
Storage
Total capacity
300 MW
Connected now
200 MW
Still to connect
100 MW
Transmission owner
SSEN Transmission (SHET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
North Scotland
Project number
PRO-001624
In the register since
August 2021

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
12000200NoneNot statedBuilt
201003001 Apr 2026Not statedConsents Approved

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 2: Status changed from Built to Consents Approved
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 1: 10 MW no longer connected
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date removed (was 22 Nov 2024)
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 2: 210 MW no longer connected
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 90 MW to 100 MW
  • 30 Sep 2025 register
    Stage removed (210 MW connected)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: 10 MW now connected
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 200 MW to 210 MW
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date set to 22 Nov 2024
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: 210 MW now connected
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 100 MW to 300 MW
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: Status changed from Consents Approved to Built
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (210 MW connected)
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Stage 1: 200 MW now connected
  • 29 Apr 2025 register
    Stage 1: Status changed from Consents Approved to Built
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 1 Feb 2024 to 22 Nov 2024 (+10 months)
  • 29 Dec 2023 register
    Renamed from Zenobe Blackhillock 200 MW
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Blackhillock 275kV to Blackhillock 275kV Substation)
  • 29 Nov 2022 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (200 MW from 31 Oct 2023) to 2 stages (200 MW from 1 Feb 2024, 100 MW from 1 Apr 2026). First connection date +3 months
  • 29 Oct 2021 register
    Stage removed (0 MW)
  • 28 Sep 2021 register
    New stage added (0 MW)
  • 31 Aug 2021 register
    Added to the register

Also at Blackhillock 275kV Substation

Substation view

1 other project, 250 MW still to connect at this substation in total.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO