QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

Thornton Facility

BALWEN LIMITED at Thornton 400kV Substation

Connection date
29 Oct 2027
Gate
Not stated
Status
Consents Approved
Technology
Storage + Solar
Total capacity
930 MW
Connected now
100 MW
Still to connect
830 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-001484
In the register since
June 2021

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
11000100NoneNot statedBuilt
2010020029 Oct 2027Not statedConsents Approved
3020040030 Nov 2028Not statedConsents Approved
4053093029 Oct 2032Not statedConsents Approved

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 7 Jul 2026 register
    Stage 1: Gate marking removed (was Gate 2)
  • 26 Jun 2026 register
    Stage 1: 100 MW now connected
  • 26 Jun 2026 register
    Stage 1: Status changed from Under Construction/Commissioning to Built
  • 26 Jun 2026 register
    Stage 1: Given a Gate 2 connection offer
  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 25 Oct 2024 to 24 Sep 2025 (+11 months)
  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 23 Oct 2026 to 29 Oct 2027 (+12 months)
  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 3: Connection date moved from 27 Oct 2028 to 30 Nov 2028 (+1 month)
  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 4: Connection date moved from 28 Nov 2031 to 29 Oct 2032 (+11 months)
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Jun 2024 to 25 Oct 2024 (+4 months)
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2026 to 23 Oct 2026 (8 days earlier)
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    Stage 2: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    Stage 3: Connection date moved from 1 Jul 2028 to 27 Oct 2028 (+4 months)
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    Stage 3: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Consents Approved
  • 31 Oct 2023 register
    New stage added (530 MW from 28 Nov 2031)
  • 30 May 2023 register
    Stage 1: Status changed from Awaiting Consents to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • 25 Feb 2022 register
    Renamed from Thornton New Connection
  • 29 Jun 2021 register
    Added to the register

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO