QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / North Scotland

OWPL Windfarm

OFFSHORE WIND POWER LIMITED at Banniskirk 400kV Substation

Connection date
31 Dec 2029
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Offshore wind
Total capacity
2,250 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
2,250 MW
Transmission owner
SSEN Transmission (SHET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
North Scotland
Project number
PRO-000568
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1075075031 Dec 2029Not statedScoping
201,5002,25031 Dec 2030Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 30 Jan 2026 register
    Connection point changed from OWPL Windfarm Platform 220/66kV Offshore Substation to Banniskirk 400kV Substation
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 0 MW to 750 MW
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2028 to 31 Dec 2029 (+14 months)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 750 MW to 1,500 MW
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Dec 2029 to 31 Dec 2030 (+12 months)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage removed (750 MW from 31 Dec 2030)
  • 29 Aug 2025 register
    Stage removed (750 MW from 31 Dec 2030)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Capacity changed from 750 MW to 0 MW
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Dec 2029 to 31 Oct 2028 (−14 months)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 1,500 MW to 750 MW
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Dec 2030 to 31 Dec 2029 (−12 months)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (750 MW from 31 Dec 2030)
  • 29 Jul 2025 register
    New stage added (750 MW from 31 Dec 2030)
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2029 to 31 Dec 2029 (+2 months)
  • 28 Feb 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2031 to 31 Dec 2030 (−10 months)

Also at Banniskirk 400kV Substation

Substation view

1 other project, 3.3 GW still to connect at this substation in total.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO