QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / England and Wales

Iron Acton

HD000ACT LTD at Iron Acton 275kV Substation

Connection date
13 Apr 2026
Gate
Not stated
Status
Consents Approved
Technology
Storage
Total capacity
120 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
120 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-000455
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1049.949.913 Apr 2026Not statedConsents Approved
2070.112031 Oct 2028Not statedConsents Approved

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 31 Oct 2025 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Jun 2025 to 13 Apr 2026 (+9 months)
  • 28 Jul 2023 register
    Connection point changed from Iron Acton 132kV Substation to Iron Acton 275kV Substation
  • 30 May 2023 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2023 to 30 Jun 2025 (+20 months)
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Renamed from Iron Acton Tertiary Connection
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Connection point changed from Iron Acton GSP to Iron Acton 132kV Substation
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Stage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Gas engines to Storage
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 120 MW to 70.1 MW
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Stage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
  • 28 Feb 2023 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Gas engines to Storage
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Iron Acton to Iron Acton GSP)
  • 28 Sep 2021 register
    Restructured from 1 stage (49.9 MW from 1 Oct 2022) to 2 stages (49.9 MW from 31 Oct 2023, 120 MW from 31 Oct 2028). First connection date +13 months
  • 26 Feb 2021 register
    Connection date moved from 10 Jan 2022 to 1 Oct 2022 (+9 months)

Also at Iron Acton 275kV Substation

Substation view

No other projects in the register at this connection point.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO