Hirwaun Power Station
- Connection date
- Connected
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Built
- Planning consent
- Granted 23 Jul 2015
Hirwaun Power Station (EN010059) · Source: Planning Inspectorate - Technology
- Gas (OCGT)
- Total capacity
- 299 MW
- Connected now
- 299 MW
- Still to connect
- 0 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-000309
- In the register since
- January 2021 or earlier
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 31 Oct 2025 register299 MW now connected
- 31 Oct 2025 registerStatus changed from Under Construction/Commissioning to Built
- 28 Jul 2023 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Rhigos GSP to Rhigos 400kV Substation)
- 30 May 2023 registerStatus changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Rhigos to Rhigos GSP)
- 28 Jan 2022 registerConnection date moved from 10 Jul 2021 to 30 Sep 2023 (+27 months)
- 26 Feb 2021 registerConnection date moved from 7 Oct 2021 to 10 Jul 2021 (−3 months)
Also at Rhigos 400kV Substation
Substation view4 other projects, 1.1 GW still to connect at this substation in total.
- Nant AmanNANT AMAN ENERGY PARK LIMITED, Onshore wind, Gate 1Dec 2030143 MW
- TarenniTARENNI ENERGY PARK LIMITED, Onshore wind, Gate 1Dec 2030188 MW
- East PitCS UK HOLDINGS III LIMITED, Storage with solar or wind, Gate 1Oct 2037750 MW
- Pen Y Cymoedd Wind FarmPEN Y CYMOEDD WIND FARM LIMITED, Onshore wind, Not statedConnected228 MW