QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / South Scotland
Connection date
2 May 2031
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Technology
Onshore wind
Total capacity
818 MW
Connected now
305 MW
Still to connect
513 MW
Transmission owner
SP Energy Networks (SPT)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
South Scotland
Project number
PRO-000067
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
13050305NoneNot statedBuilt
20503552 May 2031Not statedScoping
3030566025 Apr 2033Not statedScoping
4015881827 Apr 2034Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Onshore wind to Onshore wind
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 2: Capacity changed from 355 MW to 50 MW
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 15 Jun 2029 to 2 May 2031 (+23 months)
  • 30 May 2025 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Onshore wind to Onshore wind
  • 30 May 2025 register
    New stage added (305 MW from 25 Apr 2033)
  • 30 May 2025 register
    New stage added (158 MW from 27 Apr 2034)
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Onshore wind to Storage, Onshore wind
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Onshore wind to Storage, Onshore wind
  • 27 Sep 2024 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Whitelee GSP to Whitelee 275/33kV)
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Whitelee to Whitelee GSP)
  • 30 Apr 2021 register
    New stage added (355 MW from 15 Jun 2029)

Also at Whitelee 275/33kV

Substation view

No other projects in the register at this connection point.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO