BALNACRAIG BATTERY STORAGE
INTELLIGENT LAND INVESTMENTS GROUP PLC at ALNESS
SSEN Embedded Capacity Register, October 2026 edition
Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.
- Target energisation date
- 31 Jul 2025
- Status
- Accepted to connect
- Planning consent
- Granted 11 Dec 2023
Highland, reference 22/05167/FUL · Source: REPD - Customer
- INTELLIGENT LAND INVESTMENTS GROUP PLC
- Site name
- BALNACRAIG BATTERY STORAGE
- Address
- BALNACRAIG BATTERY STORAGE, BALNACRAIG FARM MID BALNACRAIG, ALNESS, HIGHLAND, IV17 0XL
- Grid reference
- Easting 264259, northing 871752
- Licence area
- North of Scotland (SHEPD)
- Grid supply point
- ALNESS
- Bulk supply point
- Not stated
- Primary substation
- ALNESS GRID
- Connection voltage
- 33 kV
- Technology group
- Storage
- Energy source 1
- STORED ENERGY (ALL STORED ENERGY IRRESPECTVE OF THE ORIGINAL ENERGY SOURCE), STORAGE - ELECTROCHEMICAL (BATTERIES): 50 MW registered
- Registered capacity
- 50 MW
- Change to maximum export capacity
- 49.9 MW
- Change to maximum import capacity
- 52.526 MW
- Flexible connection
- Not stated
- In a connection queue
- Not published by SSEN
- Date accepted
- 20 Sep 2023
- Date connected
- Not stated
- Distribution reinforcement reference
- Not published by SSEN
- Transmission reinforcement reference
- Not published by SSEN
- Export MPAN
- Not stated
- Import MPAN
- Not stated
- Last updated
- 10 Feb 2026
- Tracked since
- August 2023 edition
Change history
Tracked since the August 2023 edition, across 39 editions.
Changes to the details QueueWatch tracks, newest first.
- November 2025 editionTarget energisation date stated as 31 Jul 2025 (not stated in the October 2025 edition)
Also at ALNESS
GSP view14 other sites at this grid supply point in the October 2026 edition, 10 of them at ALNESS GRID, the same primary substation. In all, the sites here total 411 MW: 159 MW connected, 252 MW accepted to connect.
Price what a delay would do to your project
QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs’ published connection registers. It doesn’t tell you what to do about it. That’s what QueueQuant is for.
Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.
Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
What you get from QueueQuant
- The route to power that wins
- How to size every asset on the site
- The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
- Whether the project is worth building at all
- How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose
Planning consent
The planning decision or stage for this site, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition, with the planning authority and its reference. QueueWatch matched the site to that record. The register’s status can lag behind planning decisions, so the two may differ.
How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.