QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

Magazine BESS

Magazine BESS at Drax

Northern Powergrid Embedded Capacity Register 1MW and Over, September 2026 edition

Site, company and substation names are shown as they appear in the registers, including capitalisation.

Target energisation date
Not published by Northern Powergrid
Status
Accepted to connect
Customer
Magazine BESS
Site name
Magazine BESS
Address
Land at the Magazine, Hull Road, Selby, North Yorkshire, YO8 5BA
Grid reference
Easting 462939, northing 433148
Licence area
Yorkshire (Northern Powergrid)
Grid supply point
Drax
Bulk supply point
Magazine BESS
Primary substation
Magazine BESS Direct
Connection voltage
132 kV
Technology group
Storage
Energy source 1
Stored Energy (all stored energy irrespective of the original energy source), Storage - Electrochemical (Batteries): 80 MW registered
Registered capacity
80 MW
Change to maximum export capacity
80 MW
Change to maximum import capacity
Not stated
Flexible connection
No
In a connection queue
Not published by Northern Powergrid
Date accepted
30 Jun 2022
Date connected
Not stated
Distribution reinforcement reference
Not published by Northern Powergrid
Transmission reinforcement reference
Not published by Northern Powergrid
Export MPAN
Not stated
Import MPAN
Not stated
Last updated
6 Jul 2022
Tracked since
March 2026 edition

Change history

Tracked since the March 2026 edition, across 7 editions.

Changes to its status, capacity, technology or customer, newest first.

No change to its status, capacity, technology or customer.

Also at Drax

GSP view

27 other sites at this grid supply point in the September 2026 edition. In all, the sites here total 909 MW: 115 MW connected, 794 MW accepted to connect.

  • Aura PowerAura Power, Storage, Aura Power Direct primaryAccepted120 MW
  • Oak Energy ParkOak Energy Park, Storage, Oak Energy Park Direct primaryAccepted110.2 MW
  • Church Dike Lane BESSChurch Dike Lane BESS, Storage, Church Dike Lane BESS Direct primaryAccepted99.9 MW
  • Spring Wood HybridSpring Wood Hybrid, Solar, Spring Wood Hybrid primaryAccepted82 MW
  • Barlow SolarBarlow Solar, Solar, Barlow Solar Direct primaryAccepted49.99 MW
  • Osgodby Solar FarmOsgodby Solar Farm, Solar, Osgodby Solar Farm primaryAccepted49.9 MW
  • Barlby HybridBarlby Hybrid, Solar, Barlby Hybrid Direct primaryAccepted45.94 MW
  • Greenacres Garth BESSGreenacres Garth BESS, Storage, Greenacres Garth BESS primaryAccepted40 MW

See all 27

QueueQuant

Price what a delay would do to your project

QueueWatch reports what changed in the DNOs' published connection registers. It doesn't tell you what to do about it. That's what QueueQuant is for.

Give QueueQuant a site and it compares every way you could power it, on the grid or off it: waiting for the firm date, taking a non-firm offer, building a private wire or going off-grid, across every combination of contracted capacity, generation and battery. That’s millions of possible plans, each tested against thousands of possible futures for delay, curtailment and price. It returns the one plan that holds up best, even when that plan is not to build.

Price my project

Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.

What you get from QueueQuant

  • The route to power that wins
  • How to size every asset on the site
  • The level of delay or curtailment at which that answer flips
  • Whether the project is worth building at all
  • How bad the worst outcomes get, at the risk level you choose